Rev. 11/2022

West Virginia Department of Transportation Division of Motor Vehicles Application for a Purple Heart License Plate



Special License Plates PO Box 17120 Charleston, WV 25317 1-800-642-9066 • dmv.wv.gov

PART I • TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT (Instructions On Page 2)

PLATE SAMPLE	A) Owner(s) Information •	Use Name(s) of Owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration card that you wish to register the license plate.
West Virginia P OOOOO COMBAT WOUNDED	Name(s) on Registration	E REGISTRATION OF THE VEHICLE LISTED UNDER SECTION B BELOW.
B) Vehicle Information		
Make	Year Title No.	
VIN No.		Current Plate No.
C) Insurance Information		
Insurance Company	Insurance A	gent
Policy Number		NAIC Number
D) Requested Choices for Plate Pers	sonalization (Optional) • Perso	onalizing your plate adds a fee of \$15.00 per year.
Each Purple Heart plate begins with the prefix "PH." Yo symbols and punctuation marks are not permitted. Wi <u>to personalize your plate.</u>		ninimum of two (2) characters to follow. Requests for alone are not permitted. <u>Leave blank if you do not wish</u>
Show your choices below in order of preference. <u>Your firs</u> them to appear on the plate. All characters will be center combinations that can be confusing (e.g., 6 or G, 2 or Z, 1	ed on the plate unless you clearly specify oth	<u>luced</u> . Place the characters in the boxes exactly as you want erwise. Please try to clarify any alpha letter and numeric

FIRST CHOICE

Ρ

н

SECO	ND	сно	ICE	
Р Н				

FOURTH CHOICE

Ρ			
н			

PLEASE COMPLETE FORM ON PAGE 2. FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS ALSO ON PAGE 2.

West Virginia Department of Transportation Application for a Purple Heart License Plate



E) Applicant's Statement

I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements provided in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of the West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

(X)

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT

	/	/
DATE		

INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. To qualify for a Purple Heart license plate, an applicant must be a recipient of the Military order of the Purple Heart.
- 2. Purple Heart license plates are issued in established 10 year cycles. The applicant is not required to pay registration fees for one Purple Heart license plate; however, they must pay the .50¢ insurance enforcement fee and a \$1.00 litter fee (fee for each year remaining in the 10 year cycle) via check or money order, have a valid insurance policy in place, and provide a personal property tax receipt issued by their county assessor or an Affidavit of Assessor (DMV-178-TR) from their county assessor if they have not been liable to pay personal property taxes before a registration can be issued. Unless an applicant has been exempted by their county Assessor, they are required to pay personal property taxes every year.

Purple Heart license plate fees are calculated on a set 10 year schedule. The cycle and fees are outlined below.

Fiscal Year		2016 (7/1/16 - 6/30/17)	-	2018 (7/1/18 - 6/30/19)				-	2023 (7/1/23 - 6/30/24)	2024 (7/1/24 - 6/30/25)
Total Fee	\$15.00	\$13.50	\$12.00	\$10.50	\$9.00	\$7.50	\$6.00	\$4.50	\$3.00	\$1.50

*A \$1.50 reduction takes place at the beginning of each fiscal year, on July 1st.

<u>NOTE</u>: There is an additional fee of \$15.00 per year of remaining cycle due upon purchase of a <u>personalized</u> version.

- **3.** This application must be certified by the West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance. After certification, applicants may mail or turn in their application at the nearest DMV Regional Office. *Your application cannot be processed until it has been certified by the Department of Veterans Assistance.*
- **4.** Within 10 days after receipt of the Purple Heart license plate, the current plate and registration card must be returned to the DMV or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant's name.
- 5. In the event of the death of a Purple Heart license plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal, or death.
- **6.** For a fee of \$61.50, and \$51.50 per year thereafter*, an additional Purple Heart license plate may be obtained by completing form DMV-48-A.

*The fee is \$76.50, and \$66.50 per year thereafter, for an additional personalized Purple Heart license plate.

PLEASE ALLOW 60 DAYS FOR DELIVERY.

PART II • TO BE COMPLETED BY WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE

Certification by West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance

The West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance certifies that the above named applicant has been awarded the Military Order of the Purple Heart and qualifies for the special Purple Heart license plate, authorized under West Virginia Code § 17A-3-14.