West Virginia Department of Transportation

West Virginia Keeping West Virginia on the move.

Division of Motor Vehicles

Application for a Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plate

WV DMV PO Box 17710 Charleston, WV 25317

| PLATE SAMPLE | A) Applicant/Owner(s) Informat | on • Use name(s) of the owner(s) exact on the current motor vehicle title | tly as they appear and registration |
|--|---|--|--|
| West Virginia PS 000 PEARL HARBOR SURVIVOR December 7, 1941 | Name of Eligible Applicant Name(s) on Registration Street Address | | |
| B) Vehicle Information | CITY | STATE | ZIP |
| Make | Year Title No. | | |
| VIN No. | Current I | Plate No. | |
| C) Insurance Information | | | |
| Effective Dates of Policy From// | To Policy No | | |
| Insurance Company | | | |
| NAIC Number Insurance | Agent | | |
| D) Service Member Information | | | |
| Entered Service Place | 2 | Date | 1 1 |
| Separated from Service Place | | | |
| Branch of Service | | | |
| Name (As it appears on Honorable Discharge) | | | |
| F) Applicant Certification | | | |
| I hereby certify that I am an honorably discharged member o three (3) miles of the island of Oahu, Territory of Hawaii, on D that any false statements contained herein may result in lega Pearl Harbor license plate is contingent upon providing the W my eligibility for the plate. | December 7, 1941 between the hours of 7:55 am and 9: al penalties pursuant to West Virginia Code §17A-9-1. | 45 am. I make this certification with th Furthermore, I understand that the eli | he knowledge igibility for the |
| SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT | DATE / | Phone No. () | |
| G) Certification by the Department | of Veterans Assistance | | |
| The WV Dept. of Veterans Assistance certifies that the applicant l | herein qualifies for the requested "Pearl Harbor Survivo. | ." license plate, authorized under WV C | ode §17A-3-4(h). |
| PRINTED NAME OF DEPT. OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER | | | |
| (X) | | | |
| SIGNATURE OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER | DATE OF CERTIFICATION | | |

ORDERING INSTRUCTIONS & INFORMATION

1

Application Requirements

- 1) The applicant must be an honorably discharged service member that was serving within a three mile radius of the island of Oahu, Territory of Hawaii, on 12/7/1941 between the hours of 7:55 am and 9:45 am, as described in WV State Code §17A-3-4(h), in order to qualify for a Pearl Harbor Survivor license plate.
- 2) After completing **SECTIONS A-F**, the applicant must submit this application to the Dept. of Veterans Assistance with personal property tax receipt, or an affidavit from the assessor, if the current plate is expiring within 60 days of application. Additional proof documents may be required by the Dept. of Veterans Assistance to deem your eligibility.
- 3) Once the Dept. of Veterans Assistance certifies the application, they will forward the completed application to DMV.

Pearl Harbor Survivor license plate fees are calculated on a ten year schedule. The fees are outlined below.

| Fiscal Year | 2015 (7/1/15 - 6/30/16) | | 2017 (7/1/17 - 6/30/18) | 2018 (7/1/18 - 6/30/19) | | | - | 2022 (7/1/22 - 6/30/23) | | 2024 (7/1/24 - 6/30/25) |
|-------------|--------------------------------|---------|--------------------------------|--------------------------------|--------|--------|--------|--------------------------------|--------|--------------------------------|
| Total Fee | \$15.00 | \$13.50 | \$12.00 | \$10.50 | \$9.00 | \$7.50 | \$6.00 | \$4.50 | \$3.00 | \$1.50 |

*A \$1.50 reduction takes place at the beginning of each fiscal year, on July 1st.



Vehicle Requirements & Information

- The vehicle must be a CLASS A car or truck, under 10,001 pounds gross vehicle weight.
- The vehicle must have a WV title and license plate registered in the name of the Pearl Harbor Survivor.
- Commercial vehicles are **not** eligible for Pearl Harbor Survivor license plates.

PLEASE ALLOW UP TO 60 DAYS FOR YOUR NEW PLATE TO ARRIVE.

This allows time for the Dept. of Veterans Assistance, DMV and USPS to process and deliver the registration and license plate.

* There are no refunds, as once a plate number is registered, it cannot be used again by another registrant.

3

Once you receive your Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plate

- The old license plate must be returned to the DMV after the Pearl Harbor Survivor license plate is received, it **cannot** be transferred to another vehicle.
- The DMV will mail out and process all Pearl Harbor Survivor license plate renewals. The owner must keep their address up to date with the DMV, not only is it law, but they will not receive renewal notices if the address is not valid. DMV **does not** honor USPS forwarding addresses.
- Prior to expiration, on July 1, 2025, the owner will need to provide DMV with current and valid proof of insurance, proof of personal property taxes paid, and pay the \$1.50 renewal fee
- Additional Pearl Harbor Survivor license plates can be issued for the eligible applicant for a one time fee of \$61.50, and renewal fee of \$51.50 per year, prior to July 1, each year. For additional Pearl Harbor Survivor plates the applicant needs to complete an *Application for a Special Second Military License Plate (DMV-48-A)*.