

WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Division of Motor Vehicles

5707 MacCorkle Avenue, Southeast
Post Office Box 17110
Charleston, West Virginia 25317-0010 • (304) 558-3900
TDD: (800) 742-6991 • (800) 642-9066

Earl Ray Tomblin Governor Paul A. Mattox, Jr., P. E. Cabinet Secretary

MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 27, 2016

TO: Transportation Network Companies

FROM: Michael L. Maggard

Director II, Vehicle Services

SUBJECT: TNC Permits

Effective July 1, 2016 the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles will start issuing Transportation Network Companies (TNC) permits. These permits will allow TNC companies to provide prearranged rides.

All companies, partnership, sole proprietorship, or any other entity that wishes to obtain a permit to operate as a TNC provider must first complete a prescribe application with a fee of \$1000.00. Each TNC provider must resubmit a renewal application for permit each year at least 30 days prior to expiration July 1, and the renewal fee is \$1000.00 annually.

All TNC providers must submit to the Division with the application for permit the following policy and procedures:

- Zero tolerance on drug and alcohol use.
- No solicitation or street hails.
- No cash trips
- No discrimination; accessibility.

All TNC providers must also provide to the following to the Division:

- An agent for service of process located in the state of West Virginia.
- Copy of a certificate of insurance by the transportation network company in the amount of at least \$50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, \$100,000 for death and bodily injury per injury and \$25,000 for property damage and when engaged in prearranged rides must provide at least \$1,000,000 for death, bodily injury and property damage.

All TNC providers must provide to the rider an online-enabled application, website or system offered or utilized by the transportation network company. The TNC provider must display a photo of the driver and the license plate number of the motor vehicle utilized for providing the prearranged ride before the rider enters the TNC driver's vehicle.

All TNC providers shall receive an application from all individuals before allowing an individual to accept trip requests. The application must contain the drivers name, address, age, driver's license, motor vehicle registration, liability insurance and any other information required from the transportation network company.

The TNC provider shall conduct, or have a third party conduct, a local and national criminal background check for each applicant that shall include;

Multistate/multijurisdictional criminal records locator or similar commercial nationwide database with validation, National Sex Offender Registry, shall review or have third party review, a driving history report.

The TNC provider shall not permit an individual to act as a transportation network driver who has:

Had more than three moving violations in the prior three-year period, or one major violation in the prior three year period, including, but not limited to, attempting to evade the police, reckless driving, or driving on a suspended or revoked license.

Has been convicted within the past seven years, of any felony or misdemeanor, driving under the influence, reckless driving, hit and run, or any misdemeanor violent offence or sexual offence, or more than three misdemeanors of any kind;

Does not possess a valid driver's license, or does not possess proof of registration for the motor vehicle(s) used to provide prearranged rides, and is on the National Sex Offender Registry.

All TNC providers shall disclose in writing to TNC drivers the following before they are allowed to accept a request for a prearranged ride:

- The insurance coverage, including the type of coverage and the limits for each coverage that the TNC provides while the TNC driver uses a personal vehicle.
- The TNC driver's own automobile insurance policy might not provide any coverage while the driver is logged on the TNC digital network and is available to receive transportation request or is engaged in a prearranged ride, depending on terms.

TNC 04/16



Division of Motor Vehicles

TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANY APPLICATION

Mail Application and Fees to: Dealer Services
PO Box 17100 * Charleston, WV 25317
304-926-0705 * www.dmv.wv.gov

Transportation Network Company Permit #	
COMPANY NAME:	
LOCATION:	
AGENT FOR SERVICE NAME:	
MAILING ADDRESS:	
TELEPHONE NUMBER:	
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY:	
NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY:	
AGENT:TEL	EPHONE NUMBER:
ADDRESS:	
POLICY NUMBER:	
EFFECTIVE DATE: FROM	то
FEE: \$1,000.00	
ADDITIONAL REQUI	RED DOCUMENTS
WEST VIRGINIA BUSINESS LICENSE	CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE
ZERO DRUG TOLERANCE (COMPANY POLICY)	PROHIBIT STREET HAILS (COMPANY POLICY)
DRIVER CAN NOT ACCEPT CASH PAYMENT (COMPANY POLICY)	NON DISCRIMINATION (COMPANY POLICY)