West Virginia Department of Transportation

## **Division of Motor Vehicles**

# **Application for an Amateur Radio License Plate**



1-800-642-9066 dmv.wv.gov

| PLATE SAMPLE  | A) Owner(s) Information • Use Name(s) of Owner(s) as shown exactly on current Registration card that you wish to register the license plate.                             |
|---|--|
| • West Virginia • OOOOO Amateur Radio   | NameOWNER(S) NAME(S)  AddressSTREET ADDRESS  CITY STATE ZIP  Daytime Phone ()  |
| B) Vehicle Information  |  |
| Make  | Year Title No. Title No.   |
| VIN No.   | Current Plate No.  |
| C) Insurance Information  |  |
| Effective Dates of Policy From: / /   | To: Policy No  |
| Insurance Company   |  |
| NAIC Number Insurance   | Agent  |
| D) FCC License Number   |  |
| you clearly specify otherwise. Please clarify alpha letter  | ictly as you want them to appear on the plate. All characters will be centered on the plate, unless and numeric examples which can be confusing: 6-G, 2-Z, 1-I, 5-S, 0-O |
| E) Applicant Certification  |  |
| The information above is true and correct to the best of penalties pursuant to the West Virginia Motor Vehicle La | my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in legal aw §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.  |
| (X)   |  |
| SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT  PLEASE SEE REV  | VERSE SIDE FOR COMPLETE INSTRUCTIONS   |
| DMV USE ONLY • DO NOT WRITE IN THE S  | PACE BELOW   |
| Check # Amount \$   |  |
| THIS APPLICATION IS BEING RETURNED FOR THE  | FOLLOWING REASON(S):   |
| Payment is for incorrect amount. Correct amount is  | s \$   |
| No payment was enclosed. Correct amount is \$   |  |
| There is no record of the above mentioned vehicle.  Please provide a current copy of title or registration        |  |
| Other:  |  |

#### **Instructions**

- 1. All fees must be submitted with this application.
- 2. Before an Amateur Radio license plate can be issued, an applicant must **first** title their vehicle and have a regular Class A plate issued on that vehicle. No request will be accepted unless the DMV has a record of that vehicle and a current plate.
- 3. Amateur Radio plates are for Class A vehicles only (automobiles and trucks weighing under 10,000 pounds).
- **4.** An Amateur Radio plate will be issued if the Division of Motor Vehicles determines:
  - A.) the request choice is available.
  - B.) the request choice does not conflict with a regular series license plate number.
- 5. Once an Amateur Radio plate is issued, it may continue to be reserved yearly, if fees are paid when required.
- **6.** An Amateur Radio plate can be transferred to another vehicle, as long as it's in the original registrant's name. A \$10.00 transfer fee and \$.50 insurance fee is required.
- 7. When the Amateur Radio plate is received by the applicant, the currently assigned regular plate and registration card **must be returned** to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
- **8.** All requests for Amateur Radio plates must be submitted in writing on this form to the DMV with an enclosed **copy** of your FCC license. **Please do not send the original certificate.**
- 9. Mail this application, applicable fees (as outlined below), and a copy of your FCC license to the following address:

### **DMV Special Plates Section**

P0 Box 17120 Charleston, WV 25317

| Plate Detail                        | New Plate Fee |
|-------------------------------------|---------------|
| Plate begins with 7                 | \$61.50       |
| Plate begins with 8                 | \$63.13       |
| Plate begins with 9                 | \$60.75       |
| Plate begins with O                 | \$58.38       |
| Plate begins with N                 | \$56.00       |
| Plate begins with D                 | \$53.63       |
| Plate begins with 1 or personalized | \$51.25       |
| Plate begins with 2                 | \$48.88       |
| Plate begins with 3                 | \$46.50       |
| Plate begins with 4                 | \$44.13       |
| Plate begins with 5                 | \$41.75       |
| Plate begins with 6                 | \$39.38       |

 $The fees \ listed \ above \ include \ a \ one-time \ \$10.00 \ reservation \ fee, \ \$10.00 \ transfer \ fee, \ \$.50 \ insurance \ fee, \ and \ registration \ fees.$ 

#### The renewal fee is \$51.50 per year.

NOTE: If a plate has already been renewed, the total fees will be \$20.50, (\$10.00 reservation fee, \$10.00 transfer fee, and \$.50 insurance fee). Any time remaining before July 1st will be applied as a credit to the cost of the new plate.

All time after July 1st will be lost.