DMV-48-E

Pa. 1 of 2

Rev. 12/2022

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles

Application for a Prisoner of War License Plate



1-800-642-9066 • dmv.wv.gov

PLATE SAMPLE	A) Applicant's Information • Use Name(s) of Owner(s) as registration card that you were	s shown exactly on current wish to register the license plate.
West Virginia OOO Former Prisoner of War	Veteran's Printed Name *THE VETERAN'S NAME MUST APPEAR ON THE REGISTRATION OF THE VEHIC Name(s) on Registration Street Address CITY Phone Phone	LE LISTED UNDER SECTION B BELOW.
B) Armed Forces Service Information BRANCH OF SERVICE:		, ,
	ENTERED INTO SERVICE: Place	
SEP	ARATED FROM SERVICE: Place	Date//
Name of Veteran as it appears on Honora	able Discharge	
Service Number	Veteran Administration Claim Number	
Imprisoning Country	Dates of Confinement:	<u>/ to//</u>
C) Vehicle Information		
Make	Year Title No.	
VIN No.	Current Plate No.	
D) Insurance Information		
Insurance Company	Insurance Agent	
Policy Number	NAIC Num	nber
E) Requested Choices for Plate F	Personalization (Optional) • There is an additional \$15.00 ann	ual fee for personalization.
	icense plate, you may select up to three (3) characters or a minimum of two (2 nd numbers 1 to 999 alone are not permitted. <u>Leave blank if you do not wish t</u>	
	our first valid selection that is available will be produced. Place the characters in centered on the plate unless you clearly specify otherwise. Please try to clarify an 2 or Z, 1 or I, 5 or S, 0 or O).	
FIRST CHOICE	SECOND CHOICE THIRD CHOICE	FOURTH CHOICE

OFFICE STREET ADDRESS



STATE

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Application for a Prisoner of War License Plate

r) Applicant's Statemen	ınt's Statemer	plic	Apı	F)
-------------------------	----------------	------	-----	----

false statements may result in legal penalties pu	isdant to west virginia Eaw 31770 1,711addalent Appilo	1 1
NATURE OF APPLICANT	PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT	DATE
G) Certification - TO BE COMPLETED B	BY THE WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF VET	TERANS ASSISTANCE
Γhe West Virginia Department of Veterans Assista	ance certifies that the above named person has an honor	rable discharge from a branch of the
Fhe West Virginia Department of Veterans Assista Fred Services of the United States and qualifie		rable discharge from a branch of the
The West Virginia Department of Veterans Assista	ance certifies that the above named person has an honor	rable discharge from a branch of the

ORDERING INSTRUCTIONS & INFORMATION

- 1. The veteran must complete **Sections A F** of the application. The vehicle on which the plate will be placed must be a Class A passenger car or truck and cannot be used for commercial purposes. The vehicle must be currently titled in West Virginia in the veteran's name.
- The applicant is not required to pay registration fees for one Prisoner of War license plate, however, they must pay the .50¢ insurance enforcement fee, plus the \$1.00 liter fee. These plates will expire in July 2024, based on ten year cycle. The fees are as follows:

Fiscal Year	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019	2020	2021	2022	2023
Total Fee	\$13.50	\$12.00	\$10.50	\$9.00	\$7.50	\$6.00	\$4.50	\$3.00	\$1.50

*A \$1.50 reduction takes place at the beginning of each fiscal year, on July 1st.

NOTE: There is an additional fee of \$15.00 per year of remaining cycle due upon purchase of a personalized version.

- 3. An officer of the Department of Veterans Assistance must complete **Section F** of the application. Applicants may mail or turn-in the application to any of the West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance offices listed below. All applications they receive will be forwarded to the DMV.
- **4.** Within ten days after you receive your Prisoner of War License plate, the current registration plate and certification must be returned to DMV or transferred to another vehicle in the applicant's name.
- 5. In the event of the death of a Prisoner of War license plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal, or death.
- **6.** For a fee of \$61.50, and \$51.50 per year thereafter*, an additional Prisoner of War license plate may be obtained by completing form DMV-48-A.
 - *The fee is \$76.50, and \$66.50 per year thereafter, for an additional <u>personalized</u> Disabled Veteran license plate.

PLEASE ALLOW 60 DAYS FOR DELIVERY