Division of Motor Vehicles

Application for a Special Honorary Military Service Award Plate



A) Owner(s) Information • Use name(s) of the owner(s) exactly as they appear on the current motor vehicle title and registration, Name of Veteran (Name must be on title) Name(s) of Registered Owner(s) _____ Phone Number — Address STREET ADDRESS **B) Vehicle Information** Make Current Plate No. VIN No. C) Insurance Information Insurance Company Insurance Agent _ **NAIC Number** Policy Number **D) Plate Selection** • Check the box next to the plate you wish to purchase.







West Virginia
Navy Cross

E) Requested Choices for Plate Personalization (Optional) • Personalizing your plate adds a \$15.00 annual fee.

Each plate has an established prefix, but you may personalize the characters that follow. For plates with two (2) character spaces or more, you must choose at least two (2) characters. While numbers may be used, numbers 1 to 2000 alone are not permitted. Leave blank if you do not wish to personalize your plate.

Show your choices below in order of preference. Your first valid selection that is available will be produced. Place the characters in the boxes exactly as you want them to appear on the plate. All characters will be centered in the available space unless you clearly specify otherwise. Please try to clarify any alpha letter and numeric combinations that can be confusing (e.g., 6 or G, 2 or Z, 1 or I, 5 or S, 0 or O). Leave blank if you do not wish to personalize your plate.

	FIRST CHOICE	SECOND CHOICE	THIRD CHOICE	FOURTH CHOICE
Air Force Cross:	AFC	AFC 🗌	AFC 🗌	AFC 🗌
Distinguished Flying Cross:	DFC	DFC	DFC	DFC
Distinguished Service Cross:	DSC	DSC	DSC	DSC
Navy Cross:	NC	NC 🗌	NC	NC

West Virginia Department of Transportation

West Virginia Keeping West Virginia on the move.

Application for a Special Honorary Military Service Award Plate

dmv.wv.gov

	_					
Е١	Λn	nlice	ant's	Sta	ton	nont
Г	AU		anı s		14411	IEIIL

I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provi	isions of the
West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements provided in this application are true and correct to	the best of my
knowledge and belief under penalty of the West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.	

(X)		/	/	
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT	PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT	DATE		

INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. To qualify for an Honorary Service Award License Plate, an applicant must be a recipient of the Honorary Service Award (HSA).
- 2. HSA plates are issued in established 10 year cycles. The applicant is not required to pay registration fees for one HSA plate; however, they must pay the .50¢ insurance enforcement fee and a \$1.00 litter fee (fee for each year remaining in the 10 year cycle) via check or money order, have a valid insurance policy in place, and provide a personal property tax receipt issued by their county assessor or an Affidavit of Assessor (DMV-178-TR) from their county assessor if they have not been liable to pay personal property taxes before a registration can be issued. Unless an applicant has been exempted by their county Assessor, they are required to pay personal property taxes every year.

HSA plate fees are calculated on a set 10 year schedule. The cycle and fees are outlined below.

Fiscal Year	2015 (7/1/15 - 6/30/16)	2016 (7/1/16 - 6/30/17)	2017 (7/1/17 - 6/30/18)	2018 (7/1/18 - 6/30/19)		2020 (7/1/20 - 6/30/21)	2021 (7/1/21 - 6/30/22)	2022 (7/1/22 - 6/30/23)	2023 (7/1/23 - 6/30/24)	2024 (7/1/24 - 6/30/25)
Total Fee	\$15.00	\$13.50	\$12.00	\$10.50	\$9.00	\$7.50	\$6.00	\$4.50	\$3.00	\$1.50

*A \$1.50 reduction takes place at the beginning of each fiscal year, on July 1st.

NOTE: There is an additional fee of \$15.00 per year of remaining cycle due upon purchase of a personalized version.

- **3.** This application must be certified by the West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance. After certification, applicants may mail or turn in their application at the nearest DMV Regional Office. *Your application cannot be processed until it has been certified by the Department of Veterans Assistance.*
- **4.** Within 10 days after receipt of the HSA plate, the current plate and registration card must be returned to the DMV or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant's name.
- 5. In the event of the death of a HSA plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal, or death.
- **6.** For a fee of \$61.50, and \$51.50 per year thereafter*, an additional HSA plate may be obtained by completing form DMV-48-A. *The fee is \$76.50, and \$66.50 per year thereafter, for an additional personalized HSA license plate.

PLEASE ALLOW 60 DAYS FOR DELIVERY.

PART II • TO BE COMPLETED BY WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE

Certification by West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance

The West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance certifies that the above named applicant has been awarded an Honorary Service Award and qualifies for the special Honorary Service Award license plate, authorized under West Virginia Code § 17A-3-14.

(X)			,	/
SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER	PRINTED NAME OF AUTHORIZED VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER	DATE		