DMV-48-L

Pg. 1 of 2

Rev. 12/2022

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles Application for a Gold Star Family License Plate



PO Box 17710 Charleston, WV 25317

1-800-642-9066 • dmv.wv.gov

APPLICANT MUST BE A PARENT, SPOUSE, O					
PLATE SAMPLE A) Applicant/Owner(s)	Information · Use	e name(s) of the owner(the current motor vehi	s) exactly as they appear cle title and registration	
West Virginia	Name of Eligible Applicant				
FOOO	Name(s) on Registration				
S 0000	Street Address				
GOLD STAR FAMILY -	511 eet / (a a l e s s				
B) Vehicle Information	CITY		STATE	ZIP	
Make	Year Title	No			
VIN No.		Current Plate No.			
C) Insurance Information					
Insurance Company	Insurar	nce Agent			
Policy Number		NA	IC Number		
D) Service Member Information	E)	Applicant's Rela	ationship		
Name		neck the box below that deceased service member.	lescribes applicant'	s relationship to the	
Rank or SSN or Pay Grade Serial #			Daughter [Step Daughter	☐ Foster Father (In LOCO Parentis)	
	■	Adopted Mother 🔲 V	Nidower [☐ Brother ☐ Half Brother	
Date of Death Branch of Servi		(In LOCO Parentis)	Step Father	☐ Son ☐ Step Son ☐ Adopted Son	
Geographical Area of Service		Half Sister	.aoptear amer	·	
F) Requested Choices for Plate Personali.			<u>.</u>		
Each Gold Star Family plate begins with the prefix "GS." You symbols, punctuation marks, and numbers 1 to 2000 alone	are not permitted. Leave blank if	you do not wish to persoi	<u>nalize</u> .		
Show your choices below in order of preference. Your first value them to appear on the plate. All characters will be centered or combinations that can be confusing (e.g., 6 or G, 2 or Z, 1 or I,	n the plate unless vou clearly speci	<u>produced</u> . Place the char fy otherwise. Please try to	acters in the boxes e clarify any alpha let	xactly as you want ter and numeric	
FIRST CHOICE SECOND CHO		СНОІСЕ	FOURTH (CHOICE	
	G S		G S		
G) Applicant Certification					
I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effe certify that the statements are true and correct to the best of m					
(X)	/	Phone	e No. ()	_	
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT H) Certification by the Department of	DATE F Veterans Assistance				
The WV Dept. of Veterans Assistance certifies that the applicant herein qualifies for the requested "Gold Star Family" license plate, authorized under WV Code §17A-3-14.					
(X)					
SIGNATURE OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER	PRINTED NAME OF VETERANS AS	SISTANCE OFFICER	Ī	DATE	



GOLD STAR FAMILY LICENSE PLATE ORDERING INSTRUCTIONS & INFORMATION

1

Application Requirements

- The applicant must be a relative of a deceased service member, as described in WV State Code §17A-3-14, in order to qualify for a Gold Star Family license plate.
- 2) After completing **Sections A G**, the applicant must submit this application to the Dept. of Veterans Assistance. Additional proof documents may be required by the Dept. of Veterans Assistance to deem your eligibility.
- 3) Once the Dept. of Veterans Assistance certifies the application, the applicant can then submit the completed application and applicable registration fees to the DMV at the address listed on the front of this application or to the nearest DMV regional office. A personal property tax receipt, or an affidavit from the assessor, is required if the current plate is expiring within 60 days of application.

Present Plate Detail	Total Fee		
i resent i late betan	IVLAITEE		
Plate Begins with 5, 6, or 7 of the Current Year	\$61.50		
Plate Begins with 8	\$64.62		
Plate Begins with 9	\$62.24		
Plate Begins with O	\$59.86		
Plate Begins with N	\$57.48		
Plate Begins with D	\$55.10		
Plate Begins with 1 or is a Personalized Plate	\$52.72		
Plate Begins with 2	\$50.34		
Plate Begins with 3	\$47.96		
Plate Begins with 4	\$45.58		
Plate Begins with 5	\$43.20		
Plate Begins with 6	\$40.82		
All Expirations beyond the 6th month of next year	\$37.00		
NOTE: Add \$15.00 when purchasing a personalized version.			

This license plate can be registered for 1 or 2 years. The fee for the new plate is based on the expiration of the current license plate. Use the first letter or number of the current license plate, which signifies the expiration month, to calculate the fee. The fees above include a one time \$10.00 fee. **The renewal fee is \$51.50 per year.**The renewal fee for a personalized version is \$66.50 per year.

2

Vehicle Requirements & Information

- The vehicle must be a **CLASS A** car or truck, under 10,001 pounds gross vehicle weight.
- The vehicle must have a WV title and license plate registered in the owners name.
- There is no restriction on the number of special plates one person can obtain.

ALLOW FOR 60 DAYS FOR YOUR NEW PLATE TO ARRIVE.

This allows time for the DMV and USPS to process and deliver the registration and license plate.

- * There are no refunds, as once a plate number is registered, it cannot be used again by another registrant.
- * When the new license plate is received, the old plate and registration card must be returned to DMV within 10 business days.

CRITERIA FOR GOLD STAR BASED ON FEDERAL LAW

Public Law 534 - 89th Congress, directs the design and distribution of a lapel button, known as the "Gold Star Lapel Pin," to identify widows, parents, and next of kin of members of the Armed Forces of the United States who lost their lives:

- (1) During World War I, April 16,1917 to March 3, 1921
- (2) During World War II, September 8,1939 to July 25, 1947
- (3) During any subsequent period of armed hostilities in which the United States was engaged before July 1, 1958 (United Nations action in Korea, June 27,1950 to July 27, 1954)
- (4) After June 30, 1958
 - (a) while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States
 - (b) while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force;
 - (c) while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict in which the United States is not a belligerent party against an opposing force
- (5) Other operations recognized by the United States Department of Defense