West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles Application for a Veteran License Plate



PO Box 17120 Charleston, WV 25317

1-800-642-9066 • dmv.wv.gov

PART I • TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT (Instructions On Page 2)							
PLATE SAMPLES		A) Owner(s) Informa	tion				
Select one of the follo	wing plates: Class A (Passenger Car or Truck)	*THE VETERAN'S NAME MUST A		EHICLE LISTED UNDER SECTION B BELOW.			
West Virginia	Class G (Motorcycle)	Street Address		STATE ZIP			
B) Vehicle Informati	on						
Make		Year	Title No.				
C) Insurance Inform	ation						
			Insurance Agent NAIC	Number			
D) Requested Choice	es for Plate Pe	rsonalization (Optiona	l) • Personalizing your pla	te adds a \$15.00 annual fee.			
not permitted. Numbers may <u>Class G Veterans plate</u> : Each Requests for symbols and pu Show your choices below in exactly as you want them to be	y be used, but numbe oplate begins with the nctuation marks are order of preference appear on the plate umeric combination	ers 1 to 2000 alone are not permi he prefix "GV." You may select up e not permitted. Numbers may be e. <u>Your first valid selection that</u> . All characters will be centered hs that can be confusing (e.g., 6	vo (2) characters. Requests for syn tted. to four (4) characters or a minimu e used, but numbers 1 to 2000 alor <u>is available will be produced</u> . Pla on the plate unless you clearly sp or G, 2 or Z, 1 or I, 5 or S, 0 or O).	m of two (2) characters to follow. he are not permitted. he ce the characters in the boxes			
FIRS	CHOICE	SECOND CHOICE	THIRD CHOICE	FOURTH CHOICE			
CLASS A: (Pass. Car or Truck)							
CLASS G: (Motorcycle) G		G CONTRACTOR	G C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C	G COLO			

PLEASE COMPLETE FORM ON PAGE 2. FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS ALSO ON PAGE 2.

West Virginia Department of Transportation Application for a Veteran License Plate

F) Applicant's Statement

I hereby state that the information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in legal penalties pursuant to West Virginia Law §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

,	\ /\	
L	X I	
L	N)	

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT

INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. Please complete PART I of the application.
- 2. An officer of the Department of Veterans Assistance will verify eligibility. The vehicle on which the plate will be place must be a Class A (passenger car or truck) or Class G (motorcycle). The vehicle must be currently titled in West Virginia in the applicant's name. The Veteran's name must appear on the title.
- 3. The fee for a *standard* Class A (car or truck) Veteran license plate is the normal registration fee of \$51.50, plus an additional one-time fee of \$10.00. The fee for a standard Class G (motorcycle) Veteran license plate is the regular registration fee of \$16.00, plus an additional one-time fee of \$10.00. If your current plate will expire within 60 days from the date of application, please enclose a check for \$61.50 (Class A car or truck), or \$26.00 (Class G motorcycle), along with a copy of your personal property tax receipt and proof of insurance. Note Veteran Class G registrations expire February 1st.

For a *personalized* Class A (car or truck) Veteran license plate, there is a registration fee of **\$66.50**, plus an additional one-time fee of **\$10.00**. The fee for a personalized Class G (motorcycle) Veteran license plate is **\$31.00**, plus an additional one-time fee of **\$10.00**. If your current plate will expire within 60 days from the date of application, please enclose a check for **\$76.50** (Class A), or **\$41.00** (Class G), along with a copy of your personal property tax receipt and proof of insurance. Note both Class A and Class G personalized registrations expire each January 1st for a one (1) year renewal, and every other January 1st for a two (2) year renewal.

- 4. The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will verify by military record your initial eligibility. The Department of Veterans Affairs will confirm your information.
- 5. Within 10 days after receipt of the Veteran plate, the current plate and registration card must be returned to the DMV or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant's name.
- 6. In the event of the death of the Veteran plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal, or death.
- 7. An additional Veteran license plate may be obtained by completing another Form DMV-48.

PLEASE ALLOW 60 DAYS FOR DELIVERY.

PART II • TO BE COMPLETED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE

Certification by the Department of Veterans Assistance

The Department of Veterans Assistance certifies that the above named person has a honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States and qualifies for the special Veteran registration plate authorized under West Virginia code §17A-3-14.

(X)	/ /			
SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER	DATE	STREET ADDRESS		
PRINTED NAME OF AUTHORIZED VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER		CITY	STATE	ZIP

