West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles



1-800-642-9066 dmv.wv.gov

Application for a Certified Firefighter License Plate

PLATE SAMPLE	A) Applicant/Owner(s) Information	
* West Virginia * COOOO Certified Firefighter ■	Name(s) on Registration	•
B) Vehicle Information		
Make	Year Title No. Current Plate	No.
C) Insurance Information		
Effective Dates of Policy From: / /	To: Policy No	
Insurance Company		
NAIC Number Insura	nce Agent	
D) Applicant Certification		
	policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance wit ue and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief und	
(X)		Phone No. ()
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT	DATE	
Certification of Eligibility by WVC	J Fire Service Extension Office (OFFICE	USE ONLY BELOW THIS LINE)
(X)		1 1
SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL, WVU FIRE SERVICE EXTENSION OF	FICE CERTIFICATE NUMBER OF APPLICANT	DATE

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

ORDERING INSTRUCTIONS & INFORMATION

1

Application Requirements

- To qualify for a Certified Firefighter license plate, the applicant must be a certified firefighter as determined by the WVU Fire Service Extension Office.
- The applicant must provide a personal property tax receipt, or an affidavit from the assessor, if the current plate is expiring within 60 days.
- The applicant must submit a check or money order for the exchange fee, payable to WV DMV. Application and payment are to be mailed to:

WVU Fire Service Extension Office 2600 Old Mill Rd Weston, WV 26452

Phone: (304) 269-0875

Present Plate Detail	Total Fee
Plate Begins with 5, 6, or 7 of the Current Year	\$61.50
Plate Begins with 8	\$63.12
Plate Begins with 9	\$60.74
Plate Begins with O	\$58.36
Plate Begins with N	\$57.48
Plate Begins with D	\$55.10
Plate Begins with 1 or is a Personalized Plate	\$53.72
Plate Begins with 2	\$50.34
Plate Begins with 3	\$47.96
Plate Begins with 4	\$45.58
Plate Begins with 5	\$43.20
Plate Begins with 6	\$40.82
All Expirations beyond the 6th month of next year	\$37.00

The fee for the new plate is based on the expiration of the current license plate. Use the first letter or number of the current license plate, which signifies the expiration month, to calculate the fee.

The renewal fee is \$51.50 per year.

2

Vehicle Requirements & Information

- The vehicle must be a Class A car or truck, under 10,001 pounds gross vehicle weight.
- The vehicle must have a WV title.
- A valid WV license plate must already be registered for the vehicle, in the titled owner's name.
- There is no restriction on the number of special plates one person can obtain.

ALLOW FOR UP TO 60 DAYS FOR YOUR NEW PLATE TO ARRIVE.

This allows time for the WVU Fire Service Extension Office, DMV, and USPS to process and deliver the license plate.

*There are no refunds on special license plates, as once a plate number is registered, it cannot be used again by another registrant.

3

What to do when you receive your Certified Firefighter license plate

- The old license plate must be returned to the DMV after the Certified Firefighter license plate is received, it **cannot** be transferred to another vehicle.
- The DMV will mail out and process all Certified Firefighter license plate renewals. The owner must keep their address up to date with the DMV, not only is it law, but they will not receive renewal notices if the address is not valid. DMV **does not** honor USPS forwarding addresses.
- Prior to every July 1st, when the registration expires, the owner will need to provide DMV with current and valid proof of insurance, proof of personal property taxes paid, and pay the \$51.50 renewal fee.