West Virginia Department of Transportation

## **Division of Motor Vehicles**

## Application for a Volunteer Fire Fighter License Plate



1-800-642-9066 dmv.wv.gov

	THE APPLICANT (Instructions on the back of form.)
PLATE SAMPLE	A) Applicant/Owner(s) Information
West Virginia V 000  Volunteer Fire Fighter.	Applicant's Name
B) Vehicle Information	
Make	Year Title No.
VIN No.	Current Plate No.
C) Insurance Information	
Effective Dates of Policy From:	/To:/ Policy No
Insurance Company	
NAIC Number	Insurance Agent
D) Applicant Certification	
	cle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of West Virginia statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false Fraudulent Applications.
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT	
PART II • TO RECOMPLETED RY	Y THE FIRE CHIEF OR DEPARTMENT HEAD
Certification by Fire Chief or	
·	ualifies for a Fire Fighter license plate or a Volunteer Fire Fighter license plate in accordance with
Fire Dept. Name	Telephone () FD ID#
Address of Fire Dept	STREET ADDRESS
СПТУ	STATE ZIP
SIGNATURE OF FIRE CHIEF OR DEPARTMENT HEAD	DATE

## Instructions

- 1. The applicant must complete **PART I** of the application.
- 2. To qualify for a Volunteer Fire Fighter license plate, the applicant must provide the necessary documentation required for certification, and have **PART II** certified by the Fire Chief or Department Head.
- 3. The vehicle must have a West Virginia title and license plate in the name of the applicant before a special plate can be issued. Fire Fighter plates can only be issued to a Class A passenger car or truck and may not be used for commercial purpose.
- **4.** The current license plate must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles after the special plate is received. After issuance of the special plate, the exchanged plate is canceled and cannot be transferred to another vehicle. There are no refunds.
- Continued eligibility for a Fire Fighter plate is based on continued membership in the fire department.
- **6.** Completed applications can be taken to your regional DMV office or sent with payment to the address listed below, with payment made to WV DMV. Please include your personal property tax receipt or an affidavit from the assessor, if your registration is expiring within 60 days of your application.

## DMV Special Plates Section P0 Box 17120 Charleston, WV 25317

**Present Plate Detail New Plate Fee** Plate Begins with 5, 6, or 7 of Current Year \$61.50 Plate Begins with 8 \$63.13 **Plate Begins with 9** \$60.75 **Plate Begins with O** \$58.38 **Plate Begins with N** \$56.00 Plate Begins with D \$53.63 **Plate Begins with 1** \$51.25 Plate Begins with 2 \$48.88 **Plate Begins with 3** \$46.50 **Plate Begins with 4** \$44.13 **Plate Begins with 5** (expires next year) \$41.75 Plate Begins with 6 (expires next year) \$39.49

Your new plate fee is based on the expiration of your present license plate.
Use the first letter or number of your license plate to calculate the total fee from the chart above.

Your Volunteer Firefighter license plate will expire every July 1st.
The renewal fee is \$51.50 per year.