
PLEASE SEE NEXT PAGE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in e�ect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty 
of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 

Restricted Use - Original issue plate provided by applicant, vehicle used for limited 
purposes such as club activities, exhibits, tours, parades and similar events.  
For fees, consult chart on side 2 of this page.

General Transportation Use - Original issue plate provided by applicant that expires 
July 1st each year: Prorated cost and renewal cost = $51.50

 SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

/(X) /

F) Applicant Certi�cation

Name

Insurance Company

License Plate Number

Year on License Plate

NAIC Number

VIN No. Current Plate No.

Daytime Phone 

Address

A) Owner(s) Information • Use Name(s) of Owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration card that you wish to register the license plate.

Insurance Agent

STREET ADDRESS

OWNER(S) NAME(S)

CITY STATE ZIP

(             )

B) Vehicle Information

C) Insurance Information

D) Type of Registration Desired E) Antique Plate Information

Policy No.

Make Year Title No.Weight

1-800-642-9066
dmv.wv.gov

West Virginia Department of Transportation 

Division of Motor Vehicles
Application for the Use of an Antique License Plate
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NOTE:  If use is intended for an Antique Fleet, please use for DMV-52-TR



1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

COMPLETE  OR TYPE THIS APPLICATION IN BLUE OR BLACK INK. 
DO NOT USE THIS APPLICATION FOR CLASS “V” PLATES.

Complete section A, Owner(s) Information.  Be sure to list the name(s) exactly as shown on current registration that you wish to 
register the antique plate.

Complete section B, Vehicle Information.  This application can only be used on a vehicle which is older than 25 years.

Complete section C, Insurance Information.

Complete section D, Type of Registration Desired. This based on the intended use of the vehicle.

Complete section E, Antique Plate Information. The antique plate must meet the following requirements: 
 
 • The plate’s year of issuance must match the model year of the vehicle.  For example, a plate that was issued in   
     1927 can only be used on a 1927 model vehicle.
 
 • The license plate must be an original license plate issued by the State Road Commission (prior to 1949) or West   
     Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles ( issuing between 1949 - 1989 ) in legible condition with su�cient 
   contrast between the raised numbers and background to be readable from a distance.

 • If more than one request is made for license plates having the same number, the DMV shall only accept the 
   �rst application.

 • A clear color photograph of the license plate must accompany this application.

 • For a license plate approved for a vehicle as general transportation use, you must display a current renewal decal 
   provided by DMV.  Ideally it should be placed on the lower right hand corner or rim of the license plate. 

 • For a license plate approved for a vehicle as restricted use, you will not have a decal.  A registration card will be issued 
   to you indicating the expiration date and plate number assigned to the vehicle.

 • All antique vehicle plates expire on July 1st.  
  • General transportation use plates expire every year on July 1st. 
  • Restricted use plates are on a 10 year cycle.  When the current cycle ends on July 1, 2025, your plate expires.
   
Complete section F, Applicant Certi�cation, by signing and dating this form to �nalize your request.

Enclose the correct fee with personal property tax ticket if the current plate is expiring.  See the chart below for restricted use fees.
The fee for general transportation use is $51.50 prorated and upon each renewal.

Year Restricted
Plate is Issued Total Fee 

2015  (YEAR 1 OF 10)

2016  (YEAR 2 OF 10)

2017  (YEAR 3 OF 10)

2018  (YEAR 4 OF 10)

2019  (YEAR 5 OF 10)

2020  (YEAR 6 OF 10)

2021   (YEAR 7 OF 10)

2022   (YEAR 8 OF 10)

2023   (YEAR 9 OF 10)

2024 (YEAR 10 OF 10)

$35.00

$31.50

$28.00

$24.50

$21.00

$17.50

$14.00

$10.50

$7.00

$3.50

(YEAR STARTS AFTER JULY 1ST)

DMV Special Plates
PO Box 17120

Charleston, WV 25317

Checklist
Did you enclose a color photograph of your license plate?
Did you check the box for intended use of the vehicle?
Did you enclose a check or money order payable to DMV?
Did you complete sections  A - D on the front of this form? 

Instructions for Completing the Form: Application for an Antique License Plate 
DMV-53-TR           Pg. 2 of 2


	Make: 
	Weight: 
	Year: 
	Title No: 
	VIN No: 
	Current Plate No: 
	Insurance Company: 
	Policy No: 
	NAIC Number: 
	Insurance Agent: 
	Restricted Use  Original issue plate provided by applicant vehicle used for limited: Off
	General Transportation Use  Original issue plate provided by applicant that expires: Off
	License Plate Number: 
	Year on License Plate: 
	Area Code: 
	Phone Prefix: 
	Phone 4 digits: 
	Name: 
	Address: 


