West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles



1-800-642-9066 dmv.wv.gov

Application for an Antique Motorcycle License Plate

NameOWNER(S) NAME(S)	Daytime Phone		
Address STREET ADDRESS CIT		STATE	ZIP
B) Motorcycle Information			
	e No	ate No.	
C) Insurance Information			
Policy No Insurance Age	nt		
Insurance Company		NAIC Number	
D) Type of Registration Desired	E) Antiq	ue License Plate I	nformation
Restricted Use - You may provide either an original (antique) license plate that's registration year matches the model year of the motorcycle, or purchase a DMV antique design license plate. Restricted license plates permit the owner to use the motorcycle for limited purposes such as club activities, exhibits, tours, parades and similar events. For plate expiration and fee details, see reverse side of this application.	Year or	Plate Number License Plate ck here If you	VEST VIRGINIA
General Transportation Use - Original issue license plate provided by applicant that expires July 1st each year with a renewal cost of \$16.00.	wisl DM	n to obtain a V issued antique	A 1 0 0 1
F) Applicant Certification			
hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the describe Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements are true and correct t West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.			
(X)			

COMPLETE OR TYPE THIS APPLICATION IN BLUE OR BLACK INK. DO NOT USE THIS APPLICATION FOR CLASS "V" PLATES. THIS APPLICATION IS INTENDED FOR CLASS "G" ONLY.

- 1. Complete section A, Owner(s) Information. Be sure to list the name(s) of the owner(s) exactly as shown on the current registration card.
- 2. Complete section B, Motorcycle Information. This application can only be used on a motorcycle which is older than 35 years.
- 3. Complete section C, Insurance Information.
- 4. Complete section D, Type of Registration Desired. This is based on the intended use of the motorcycle.
- 5. Complete section E, Antique Plate Information. The antique license plate must meet the following requirements:
 - The license plate's year of issuance must match the model year of the motorcycle. For example, a license plate that was issued in 1927 can only be used on a 1927 model motorcycle.
 - The license plate must be an original license plate issued by the State Road Commission (prior to 1949) or West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (issuing between 1949 1989) in legible condition with sufficient contrast between the raised numbers and background to be readable from a distance.
 - If more than one request is made for license plates having the same number, the DMV shall only accept the first application.
 - A clear color photograph of the license plate must accompany this application.
 - For a license plate approved for a motorcycle as *general transportation use*, you must display a current renewal decal provided by DMV. Ideally it should be placed on the lower right hand corner or rim of the license plate.
 - For a license plate approved for a motorcycle as *restricted use*, you must display the current 10 year decal. A registration card will be issued to you indicating the expiration date and license plate number assigned to the motorcycle.
 - All antique motorcycle license plates expire on July 1st.
 - General transportation use license plates expire every year on July 1st.
 - Restricted use license plates are on a 10 year cycle. When the current cycle ends on July 1, 2015, your license plate expires.
- 6. Complete section F, Applicant Certification, by signing and dating this form to finalize your request.
- 7. Enclose the correct fee with your personal property tax receipt if the current license plate is expiring in the next 60 days. See the chart below for *restricted use* fees. The fee for a *general transportation use plates* is \$16.00 and will be \$16.00 upon each renewal.

Checklist

Did you enclose a color photograph of your license plate? Did you check the box for intended use of the motorcycle? Did you enclose a check or money order payable to DMV? Did you complete sections A - D on the front of this form?

> PO Box 17120 Charleston, WV 25317

Year that the Restricted License Plate is Issued (YEAR STARTS AFTER JULY 1ST)	Total Fee
2015 (YEAR 1 OF 10)	\$35.00
2016 (YEAR 2 OF 10)	\$31.50
2017 (YEAR 3 OF 10)	\$28.00
2018 (YEAR 4 OF 10)	\$24.50
2019 (YEAR 5 OF 10)	\$21.00
2020 (YEAR 6 OF 10)	\$17.50
2021 (YEAR 7 OF 10)	\$14.00
2022 (YEAR 8 OF 10)	\$10.50
2023 (YEAR 9 OF 10)	\$7.00
2024 (YEAR 10 OF 10)	\$3.50