WHAT YOU NEED

All Renewal and Duplicate Applicants

for a driver's license or ID card will need to provide the following documents:

NOT for Federal Identification

(a secure card that does not meet REAL ID Act requirements)

- Current Card
- Renewal Notice
- One Proof of Residency with Your Name and **Physical Address**

YOU WILL ALSO NEED:

- One Additional Proof of Residency If Your Address Has Changed
- Name Change Documents (if you choose to change your name on your current driver's license or ID card)

*If your driver's license or ID card has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, you must also provide one proof of identity and one proof of WV residency document which includes your name and address to obtain a new card.

FOR Federal Identification

(a card containing a "gold star", indicating that it meets REAL ID Act requirements for nationwide federal use at airports and other designated federal facilities)

- One Proof of Identity Document
- Two Proof of WV Residency Documents Containing Your Name and Physical Address

YOU WILL ALSO NEED:

Name Change Documents (for ANY and ALL name changes or if your name is different from what appears on your proof of identity)

√ When your application is processed, you will receive a temporary card to carry until an official License/ Identification Card is delivered to your address via United States Postal Service.



YOU HAVE A CHOICE!

Driver's Licenses & Identification Cards

NOT for Federal Identification Cards

- Marked with the statement "NOT FOR REAL ID PURPOSES."
- Valid and secure for identification or license to drive.
- As of May 7, 2025, these cards are not valid for identification for air travel or entry into select Federal buildings.



FOR Federal **Identification Cards**

- REAL ID Compliant License and ID's are marked with a gold star in the top right corner.
- · Valid and secure nationally for REAL ID requirements for air travel and entry into select Federal buildings.



- · Adult Driver's Licenses and ID Cards for Ages 21 and over appear in a horizontal or landscape format
- Identification Cards are marked "NOT A DRIVER'S LICENSE."





 Licenses and ID cards issued to applicants ages 18 to 20 display the cardholder's 21st birthday in





Licenses and ID cards for applicants ages 15 to 17 display the cardholder's 18th birthday in red print.

· Identification Cards display the 21st birthday in blue.

NOTICE TO APPLICANTS

ALL First Time, Transfer, and Expired Driver's License and ID Card Applicants:

A first time applicant must provide one proof of identity document, two proofs of West Virginia residency with name and physical address, and proof of legal name change(s) if your name has changed or is different from what appears on your proof of identity document. *DMV must be able to establish a link between ANY and ALL name changes.*

First time applicant rules apply to those whom:

- Have never obtained a West Virginia driver's license or ID card
- Have a WV driver's license (non-CDL) or ID card that is more than 36 months expired; or
- Are transferring a valid driver's license or ID card from out-of-state.

Additionally, all out-of-state driver's license or ID card transfers are required to exchange their out-of-state card for a WV card. If you wish to transfer a driver's license and have lost your card, you must present a certified driving record from the state in which you are licensed. The driving record must be dated within the 30 days prior to the date you wish to exchange your out-of-state license for a WV driver's license. New residents who want to drive in WV must apply for a WV driver's license within 30 days after establishing residency.





ACCEPTABLE PROOF DOCUMENTS



for a West Virginia Driver's License or Identification Card

You will be required to provide ONE of EACH of the following:

Proof of Identity

- An original or certified copy of a United States-issued birth certificate (U.S. Department of State and U.S. Military birth certificates ARE acceptable. Hospital birth certificates and Bureau of Census records are NOT acceptable.)
- Valid, unexpired US Passport or Official U.S. Passport Card
- If foreign born, valid, unexpired Department of Homeland Security documents

Social Security Number

 While a proof document is no longer required, you must provide a valid Social Security Number verifiable with the Social Security Administration.

Proof of Legal Name Change

If you have changed your name, you may be required to provide some or all of the following:

 Certified marriage certificate (souvenir or minister's copies are NOT acceptable)

- Original or certified birth certificate with amended legal name
- Court order with legal name change
- Certified divorce decree(s) with legal name / name change
- If you are age 50 or over, have satisfied all other documentation requirements, hold a current WV driver's license or ID card in the name being verified, and have gone through at least one WV license renewal cycle, a signed statement may be submitted in lieu of the name change document such as the marriage certificate or divorce decree.

You will be required to provide <u>TWO</u> proofs of WV residency. Acceptable documents include:

- WV utility bills (not more than 90 days old)
- Tax records issued by a city, county or state (does not include tax returns)
- A valid WV vehicle registration card
- WV Voter's Registration card
- WV mortgage documents, WV homeowner insurance documents for a WV residence, or proof of WV home ownership
- W-2 form that is not more than 18 months old (you may use the same W-2 as your proof of Social Security number)

- WV weapons permit
- Proof of WV public assistance
- · Residential rental or lease agreement

For a complete list of acceptable proof of residency documents, visit dmv.wv.gov or call 800.642.9066.

Unacceptable documents include:

- Those with PO Box addresses
- · Termination notices from a utility company
- Two documents from the same company
- Recurring documents more than 90 days old, such as utility bills and bank statements

CDL and **GDL** Applicants

Both Commercial Driver's License and Graduated Driver's License applicants will be required to provide additional proof documents.

For more information on all required documents, please contact DMV.

