Violations and Penalties Conditions Requiring the Return of Mobility Can we help you? West Virginia
Impaired Parking Placards and License Plates
It’s unlawful to do any of the following: If you have a permanent or temporary mobility
WYV law requires the return of mobility impaired impairment that limits your ability to walk, the
« Park in spaces designated for mobility impaired parking placards and/or license plates if: DMV may be able to help you. The DMV offers
individuals without displaying a mobility impaired mobility impaired parking placards and license
parking placard or license plate. A conviction for this 1. The person to whom the parking placard or license plate plates which allow you to use parking spaces
offense could result in fines, as outlined below: has been issued is deceased or has moved out of state designated for mobility impaired person(s).

Keeping West Virginia on the move.

Mobility Impaired
« First Offense - $200 2. The person has found, or has in their possession, a These mobility impaired parking placards and y p

. Second Offense - $300 parking placard or license plate that was not issued to license plates display the international symbol of P LAT E & P LACA R D
. Third Offense - $500 them access and are valid in all 50 states, as well as many
other countries. Any agency or organization that

3. The parking placard or license plate was reported lost or provides transportation for mobility impaired P ROG RAM I N FO RMAT I 0 N

stolen and is later found after a duplicate has been persons may also apply for mobility impaired
issued parking placards and license plates.

+ Use a legally obtained mobility impaired parking
placard or license plate when not transporting
mobility impaired persons. A conviction of this
offense could result in fines up to $500 and/or the
revocation of mobility impaired parking privileges,
requiring the surrender of all mobility impaired
parking placards and license plates

Special license plates should be surrendered to your local Any vehicle transporting mobility impaired

DMV regional office. persons may use parking spaces designated for
the mobility impaired; however, their mobility
impaired parking placard must be hung from the
front windshield rearview mirror, or their vehicle

« Create or use a counterfeit copy of a mobility must have a mobility impaired license plate

impaired parking placard or license plate

Anyone with qualifying mobility impairments can

apply for a mobility impaired parking placard.

You do not need to be a certain age, own a motor ol s :
vehicle, or even drive a motor vehicle to be T e -
eligible. g P i ety

« Alter a mobility impaired parking placard or license
plate

+ Make false statements about mobility impairments
in order to obtain, or to assist someone else to :
obtain, a mobility impaired parking placard or < . (WV Code: §17C-13-6)
license plate - .’ —

+ Lend a mobility impaired parking placard to another

erson N o
P Download applications

DMV-41-TR for Individuals or
o . DMV-41A-TR for Organizations
« Use a mobility impaired persons parking placard if y ' o, ! @ at www.dmv.wv.gov/forms, or
you are not transporting that person ; = A call our fully-staffed Call Center at
1-800-642-9066 for assistance.

« Forge a doctor’s signature on any application

REVISED 4/2014



How to Apply for a Mobility Impaired
Parking Placard or License Plate

The applications are available at all DMV locations,
State Police Detachments, and on the DMV website
(www.dmv.wv.gov). The DMV will also mail you

an application if you call the number listed on the
back of this brochure.

1. The application must be completed by a *licensed
physician when requesting a new or renewal of a
mobility impaired parking placard or license plate.
Applicants who submit an application for a duplicate
or replacement parking placard or license plate are
not required to have a *licensed physician certify the
application. Under no circumstances will more than
two permits or any combination of parking placards or
license plates be issued. Additionally, a mobility
impaired license plate may only be issued if the
applicant is the registered owner of the vehicle.

2.The applicant must indicate at the top of the
application whether they are requesting a mobility
impaired parking placard, license plate, or both. The
*licensed physician certifies the applicant with either a
permanent (five year) or temporary (six month) mobility
impairment. Each customer must be recertified to
renew a mobility impaired parking placard or license
plate. Mobility impaired license plates are not issued
to individuals with a temporary mobility impairment.

3. Applicants requesting a mobility impaired license
plate must provide all vehicle information, including:
the license plate number, title number, make, year,
weight, and vehicle identification number. Please
include a copy of the vehicle owner’s personal
property tax receipt, proof of insurance, and the
correct registration fee.

4. The application must be certified by a *licensed
physician. The licensed physician must include their
full name, address, signature, medical license
number, and medical license expiration date. The
*licensed physician must determine that the applicant
meets at least one of the six criteria established by
the federal government. It’s important that the
entire medical section be completed for verification
purposes.

* Licensed Physician includes Chiropractor, Advanced Nurse Practitioner,
and Physician Assistant. See WV law code §17(-13-6(a)(4).

The Medical Requirements

All applicants must receive certification by a *licensed
physician stating they meet at least one of the
following six criteria:

1. Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest

2. Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from,
a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic
device, wheelchair, or other assistive device

3. Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the
person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one
second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter,
or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on
room air at rest

4.Uses portable oxygen

5. Has a cardiac constitution to the extent that the person’s
functional limitations are classified in severity as Class I1l
or Class IV, according to standards set by the American
Heart Association

6. Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic,

neurological, or orthopedic condition

(Source: Federal Rule 23 CFR PART 1235)
Mobility Impaired Parking Privileges
Mobility impaired parking privileges are only valid when
the vehicle displaying the parking placard or license plate
is being driven by or is transporting the person with the
mobility impairment.
A mobility impaired person may obtain one or two
parking permits. Below are options as outlined in WV
law code §17C-13-6(a)(1):

+ One mobility impaired license plate and/or one placard, or

« Two placards, but NO mobility impaired license plates, or

« Two mobility impaired license plates and NO placards.

Proper Parking Placard Display

Mobility impaired parking placards must be displayed
in clear view at all times when the vehicle is parked in
a space designated for the mobility impaired. Display
the parking placard on the front rearview mirror when
the vehicle is parked. If there is no rearview mirror, the
parking placard should be displayed on the dashboard
clearly visible from the outside. For safety reasons,

do not drive with the parking placard hanging in the
windshield.

Enpires

PR B

1-800-642-50066
Permanent Placards Temporary Placards
are Blue and feature a “P” are Red and feature a “T" at
at the end of the ID number.  the end of the ID number.

Keep the Identification Card With You

Law enforcement may request that you show your
identification card, this should be attached to the
front of your parking placard. Always carry these

with you whenever using mobility impaired parking
privileges; in any vehicle the mobility impaired person
is operating or riding in.

Some Reminders About Parking

The use of a mobility impaired parking placard or
license plate does not necessarily exempt you from
state or local parking regulations or fees. The West
Virginia mobility impaired parking placard or license
plateis valid in all 50 states for permissible parking.
Local governments designate parking spaces for
persons with mobility impairments by local law or
ordinance.

If you have a question about designated parking
for the mobility impaired, contact the authorities
responsible for maintaining the street or road in
question. If you have a question about mobility
impaired parking at any facility with off street
parking, contact the facility manager.

Non-mobility impaired drivers: if possible, please
consider dropping off your mobility impaired
passenger and utilizing regular parking in order
to allow a mobility impaired driver to use the
available mobility impaired parking. Please note,
a mobility impaired person must exit the vehicle
when parking in a mobility impaired parking
space.

Certain spaces are purposely designated to be
larger for the purposes of parking vans and
wheelchair lifts. As a matter of courtesy, park in
the reserved space that best accommodates the
size of your vehicle.

Rights and Privileges
Mobility impaired parking privileges allow you
to park in any parking space designated for a
mobility impaired person. Mobility impaired
parking privileges do not allow you to stop,
stand, or park in the following areas:

» Where parking is prohibited

« In spaces accessible for other special types of vehicles

« Where it would clearly present a traffic hazard
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