DMV-54
07/24

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
PO BOX 17120
CHARLESTON, WYV 25317

Preliminary Interest Application for Special Plate
Fairmont State University

PART | - TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

Name of Applicant
Name(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration for vehicle you wish to register:

Name(s) Telephone Number

Present Street Address Current License Plate Number
City State Zip Title Number

Model Year Make Vehicle Identification Number

INSURANCE INFORMATION

Effective date of Insurance Policy: From To NAIC#

Name of Insurance Company

Agent Policy Number

I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West
Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of
false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

Date

Signature of Applicant

PART Il - CERTIFICATION OF ELIGIBILITY BY ORGANIZATION
Fairmont State University certifies that the above-named applicant is eligible to receive a special organization
plate.

Date

Signature of qualifying official

Printed name of qualifying official

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS



INSTRUCTIONS
Preliminary Interest Application

Your organization must obtain at least 100 preliminary interest applications before the Division of
Motor Vehicles may begin the design and production of the license plate. Therefore, you are
being asked to complete this application.

1. Please complete Part 1 of the application. The vehicle on which the plate will be placed must
be a Class A (Vehicles) plate. The vehicle must be currently titled in West Virginia. Leased
vehicles are eligible for this plate.

2. There are no restrictions on the number of special license plates you may obtain.
3. Attach a check for $91.50 made payable to Fairmont State Foundation Inc.

4. The $91.50 check will cover the cost of the license plate for the first year or portion of the first
year. These plates will expire July 1 of each year. This is a flat fee for all applicants and is not
prorated. This initial application process is only to determine whether your organization has the
minimum level of interest to pursue the design and manufacturing of the new license plate. Please
continue to renew your present license plate during this process.

5. Your renewal will be processed by DMV. Your organization is not involved in the renewal
process. The renewal fee will be $66.50 per year.

6. Your organization must submit the minimum number of 100 applications along with the fees to
DMV by February 1, 2025. If your organization fails to submit at least 100 applications by that
date, the legislative authorization to issue the special license plate expires and your organization
must refund your fee to you.

7. Please mail your application and check to your organization as soon as possible. The sooner
your organization meets the minimum number of applications, the sooner DMV can begin the
design and production of your new license plate.

8. Please call your organization if you have any questions.

9. Mail your application and your check to:

Fairmont State Foundation Inc.
1201 Locust Ave.
Fairmont, WV 26554

304-534-8786

DO NOT MAKE YOUR CHECK PAYABLE TO DMV

DO NOT MAIL OR BRING YOUR APPLICATION TO THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES



