DMV-1A-	TR
<b>REVISED</b>	12/



FOR DMV USE ONLY
CLASS EXP. DATE
PLATE NUMBER
DL OR ID NUMBER

#### West Virginia Department of Transportation

# **Division of Motor Vehicles**

## **Application for Certificate of Abandoned Title**

TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES. INSTRUCTIONS ARE ON THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM.

## **Buyer/Owner Information**

The buyer(s)/owner(s) of	the following motor vehicle make	application for this motor vehicles Certi	ficate of Title and here	by state the follow	ing:
NAME(S)					
MAILING ADDRESS					
Vehicle Descr	Street ription	City or Town	County	State	Zip Code
MAKE	YEAR	V.I.N.			
STYLE OF BODY		WEIGHT			
Antique Aba	indoned		Passenger Vehicle Only	y TRUCKS F	Requested (GVW)
		<b>COST \$</b> West Virginia and the tax paid thereon by	•		_
		on the described vehicle in accordance with tl and belief under penalty of false swearing. V			
NAME OF INSURANCE COM	IPANY				JRCHASER(S)/OWNER(S)
NAME OF INSURANCE AGE	NT		tle reads "AND" Both	Signatures of Ov	vners Must Appear
INSURANCE POLICY NUMB	BER	(X)			
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS (NAIC) NUMBER					
	** INSURANCE I	MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN THIS APPL	ICATION IS RECEIVEL	)	

- Instructions
- Type or complete this application in BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY.
- DO NOT SEND CASH. SEND CHECK OR MONEY ORDER payable to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Any check that is not honored for payment will result in a \$10.00 SERVICE CHARGE.
- · Vehicle must be at least 25 years old.
- If you wish to purchase a new plate, include the appropriate fees detailed below.
- Paperwork must be sent to Charleston for processing.
- There is a 30 day waiting period for notification purposes.
- The following forms are required to obtain an Abandoned Vehicle Title:
  - DMV-1A-TR (Application for Certificate of Title for an Abandoned Vehicle)
  - DMV-1B (Vehicle Identification Number Verification)
  - <u>DMV-VRC-1</u> (Vehicle Removal Certificate)

The division will use the Message Forwarding Service to attempt to notify the owner of the vehicle if any record is available. A NCIC/teletype will be submitted for verification of the last recorded owner. If an owner is recorded in our system, the owner will be notified by Certified Mail.

You must submit all the above paperwork and fees to the WV DMV Headquarters office. There is a 30 day waiting period after letter of notification is sent to owner in system.

## **Table of Fees**

Type of Fee	Fee Information	Fee Totals
Abandoned Vehicle Fee	\$100.00	\$100.00
Title Fee (This fee is required)	\$15.00	\$15.00
Lien Fee - If applicable (\$10.00 Per Lien)		
License Plate Transfer Fee - If applicable	\$10.50	
6% Sales Tax (All sales under \$500.00 must pay \$30.00 instead of 6%)	X .06 =	
Fee for Registration and License Plate - If applicable  Class A - Cars & Trucks up to 10,000 lbs. Class R - Travel Trailers  Class B - Trucks 10,001 lbs. and up Class T - Trailers  Class G - Motorcycles Class V - Antique Vehicles	Please visit dmv.wv.gov to find vehicle registration fee schedules.	
TOTAL PAYMENT REQUIRED (Send a check or money order ONLY if mailing this application) =		

## Checklist

Is the application completed, including signatures?
Did you enclose a check or money order payable to DMV for the total fees and payment due?
Do you have all required documents such as:
- Proof of incurance (Cortificate of Incurance

- Proof of insurance (Certificate of Insurance WV-1) or a completed statement of insurance
- Copy of the registration card front and back if you are transferring a license plate
- Out-of-State title if the vehicle was previously titled in another state

### MAIL ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS, FORMS, AND PAYMENT TO:

Division of Motor Vehicles 5707 MacCorkle Avenue, SE, PO Box 17710 Charleston, WV 25317

**Toll Free Telephone (In-state only)** 1-800-642-9066 **Out of State** (304) 558-3900