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What Is Vehicle Services?

Titles & Registrations
Special Plates

Online Services

Data Entry

Dealers

Sendbacks

NMVTIS



DMV FEES

Class A License Plate/Registration:
$51.50 - Basic Class A
$151.50 - Electric/Gas Hybrid
$251.50 - Electric

Title
Lien
Dup!
Dup!

Fee: $15.00

Fee: $10.00

icate Titles: $15.00

icate Registration: $10.00

Dup!

icate Plate: $10.00

Plate Transfer: $10.50
Salvage Titles: $22.50



LEASE VEHICLES

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

Application for title (Form DMV-1L).

MSO or Title.

Odometer Statement (If out-of-state title).

Power of Attorney (On Leasing Company Letterhead - if applicable)
Lease agreement.



LEASE VEHICLES
TAXATION ON A LEASE VEHICLE

6% tax is charged on the Cap Cost Reduction at
time of filing.

Minus the net trade in allowance. (Only if
previously titled in West Virginia).

The leasing company will collect 5% of the lease

payment as tax and remit this to the Division on a
monthly basis.



LEASE VEHICLES

TRANSFER OF PLATES / OTHER INFORMATION

A license plate can be transferred between vehicles
within the same leasing company (Transfer fees apply)

May transfer special plates with a letter from the
customer relinquishing the rights to the leasing
company. (Iransfer fees apply)

The leasing company’s address must appear on form
DMV-1L. That is the address that will appear on the
title and registration. If you need the plate and
registration card special mailed to the lessee, then you
must include a special mail envelope.



DMV-1L Y
Rev. 09/2021 gmw West Virginia Department of Transportation

BT Division of Motor Vehicles
Application for Certificate of Title for a Leased Motor Vehicle

NUMBER | TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK |

e MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
INSTRUCTIONS ARE ON THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM.

The owner(s) of the following vehicle make application for a certificate of tithe for that vehicle, and, for that purpose, state the following:

LESSOR'S NAME
NAME OF PURCHASER TO BE WRITTEN PLAINLY AND EXACTLY AS (T IS TO APFEAR ON THE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
CJO LESSEE'S NAME
LESSOR'S ADDRESS,
STREET CITYTOWN COUNTY STATE 2 COOE
VEHICLE DESCRIPTION
Make Year VLN
. Ocometer Reading
Style of Body [ ] Weight [ I I I (No Yenths) :]
Pazsenger venicle ony TRUCKS Reguested (GVW)

Lease Pemit Base Lease Termin Tax
Number Payment Months Amount

TRADE IN DESCRIPTION

Make Year VLN WV Title No.

Cash Down or Rebate A t 6% of Cash Down or Rebate Amount (cap cost
REGISTRATION PLATE TRANSFERRED FROM VEHICLE BELOW - SEND COPIES OF BOTH SIDES OF REGISTRATION CARD.

Make = Weight V.LN. Piate No.
LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES
Name of Lien Holder Amount
Mailing
Kind of Lien [[] C/S/IC o S/A  Date
AGAress = Sueer Coy ™ Zp Code a o O

MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE POLICY INFORMATION - INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION IS RECEIVED.

| herady state that there is a motor vehicle kabllily policy in effact on the described vehidie in with the prowy: of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle
Laws and certify that the stalements made herein are true and comrect fo the best of my knowledge and bellef under penalty of false swearing. West Virginis
Motor Vehicle Law § 17A-9-1: Fraudufent Applications.

Effeclive date of insurance policy: From To [ THIS TITLE APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY THE OWNER I
Name of Insurance Company
Name of Insurance Agent FRNT COMPANY NAME
Poicy Numbx (x)
Natonal A Ir (e i (NAIC) Numb OWNER'S SIGNATURE - FOWER ¥ ATTORNEY DOCUMENTS MUST 8E

FROVIDED IF NOT SIGNED BY OWNER THEMSELVES

DEALER CERTIFICATION

| hareby state that there is a motar vehicle Sabiity palicy in effect on the described vehicle in accardance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle
Laws and certify that the statements made herein are irue and correct 1o the best of my knowiedge and belief under penally of faise swearing. West Virginia
Motor Vehicle Law § 17A-9-1. Fraudulent Applications.

This is 1o cartify that the above Sescribed vehicle was acquired from on
MONTH DAY YEAR and leased to the above-named lessor on MONTH

DAY YEAR . The undersigned dealer further centifies that the lease payment, tenm, and tax are true and comect and that the
Federal Odometer Regulation has been FEDERAL ODOMETER REGULATIONS REGUIRE YOU STATE THE ODOMETER MILEAGE UFON TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP.
| certify to the best of my k ge that the ding is and reflocts the actual mileage unless one of the following is checked:

[:] 1.) The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits. [:] 2.) The odometer reading is not the actual mileage. WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.

Dealer Name Dealer No.

Dealer Address Dealer Sigr (x)




Special Purpose Vehicles

Per WV code §17A-13-1 a “street-legal special purpose vehicle” (SPV) includes all-terrain vehicles, utility
terrain vehicles, minitrucks, pneumatic-tired military vehicles, and full-size special purpose-built vehicles,
including those self-constructed or built by the original equipment manufacturer and those that have been
modified. Street-legal special purpose vehicles are eligible for a registration plate.”

To be considered an SPV, the vehicle must have the following equipment:
One or more headlamps
One or more tail lamps
One or more brake lamps
A tail lamp or other lame constructed and placed to illuminate the registration plate with a white light
One or more red reflectors on the rear
Amer electric turn system, one on each side of the front
Amber or red electric turn signals
A braking system, other than a parking brake
A horn or other warning device
A muffler and, if required by applicable federal statute or rule, an emission control system
Rearview mirrors on the right and left side of the driver
A windshield, unless the operator wears eye protection while operating the vehicle
A speedometer, illuminated for nighttime operation

For vehicles designed by the manufacturer for carrying one or more passengers, a seat designed for
passengers

Tires that have at least 2/32 inches or greater tire thread



Special Purpose Vehicles

If a vehicle qualifies as a street-legal SPV, the owner must then obtain a certificate of
insurance on the SPV, have it inspected, fill out the Special Purpose Vehicle Certification
Form (DMV-SPV1-TR), and provide any other documents necessary including tax, title, lien,
plate, and registration fees to the DMV.

Fees are $16.00 annually for a regular Class street-legal SPV plate, plus additional fees of $100
annual for hybrid vehicles, and $200 for electric or natural gas vehicles.

If the street-legal SPV is already titled, the owner must still fill out and provide the Special
Purpose Vehicle Certification Form and provide registration fees as listed above.

An individual may operate a SPV on roads in WV subject to the following limitations:

No street-legal SPV may be driven on roads where prohibited by the county,
municipality, or the Division of Natural Resources.

No street-legal SPV may be driven on controlled access highways, including, but not
limited to, interstate systems.

No street-legal SPV may be driven on a highway displaying centerline pavement
markings for a distance greater than 20 miles.

No minitruck registered as a street-legal SPV may be driven on a road constructed
pursuant to a federal highways program.

No street-legal SPV may be driven in an area not open to motor vehicle use.



;VN;:: l;:rgcl’;;: ZZ:artment of Transportation m&
Division of Motor Vehicles " i
Special Purpose Vehicle Certification bslS

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND SUBMITTED WITH THE APPLICATION FOR TITLE OR REGISTRATION.

A) Applicant’s Information

Name:

LAST FIRST MIDDLE

Address:

STREETADDRESS Y COUNTY STATE P

B) Vehicle Information

Make vear| [ LI wenon | UL JL L

wewve. I IICICIECIEIE T TOIEEIEIEIE] cumentetatene I I

C) Applicant Certification
I/we certify under penalty of false swearing that the

_| Headlights || Taillights |_| Brake lights | |Red reflector onrear || Turnsignals || Brakingsystem [ | Horn [|Muffler [|Rearview mimors
on the Special Purpose Vehicle named herein are in good working condition.

(X) T ! B

SIGNATURE OF OWNERS) DATE




REFUNDS

If you have any questions, please call our DMV
Accounting Section at 304-926-3805.

This includes any deal that may have been
cancelled or backed out after the documents
have been sent to the Division.

This includes mail work, VRS, CVR and ELT.



DMV-38-AB
REVO412

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles
Application for Refund b gy i

ALL REFUND REQUESTS MUST BEACCOMPANIED BY COPIES OF CANCELLED CHECK(S) (FRONT AND BACK)
AND/OR APPLICABLE TRANSACTION RECIEPT(S).

:

DMV Policy: Refunds will ONLY be given for unused decals and unused plates with the return of the decal, plate, and registration
card. On duplicate payments, the Division will refund with both cash receipts and copies of both canceled checks. On driver’s
license applications, the Division will refund only on a departmental error. On CDL', the Division only refunds on departmental error.

All applications for refund must be tendered to the Division of Motor Vehicles within SIX (6) months after the date of transaction.

A) Required Refund Information

REFUND TO (NAME)

ADDEESS vy STATE 0 CONE
DRIVER'S LICENSE NUMBER EXPIRATION DATE DATE OF BIRTH

PLATE NUMEER VINNUMBER

(INCLUDE SPACES)

MAKE MODEL YEAR WEIGHT TITLE NUMBER

Reason for Refund

Refund Total $ Signature (X) Date
SIGNATURE - YOU MUST SIGN HERETO CERTIFY YOUR REQUEST DATE OF REQUEST - MUST BE WITHIN
SIXMONTHS OF TRANSACTION DATE

B) Credit Card Payment Detall (If applicable)

Credit Card Refund Policy: You may only have the refund transaction applied to a credit card if a credit card was originally used.
When you elect to have a refund processed to a credit card, it must be the same credit card used in the initial transaction.

CardType [ DISCOVER O O @1 - VISA

Card Number Expiration Date /
Card Holder Signature (X) Date
Division of Motor Vehicles Use Only « if error was made by DMV, a Supervisor must sign below.
Supervisor’s Signature FIMS Number
Accounting Sigr-Off Date

Date Completed Warrant Number



Send Backs

There have been 31,240 send backs in the ELT
system in the last year.

The following are the top 4 reasons:

1. Other -12,722

2. Missing evidence - 11,733

3. Evidence does not match the application - 5,800
4. Missing sighature - 597



' | Send Backs |

If a rejection is processed asking for additional
fees - please send check with a copy of the
rejection or sendback. Or write title number on
the front of the check to process the check in a
timelier fashion.

Paper sendbacks are still being processed as
well. The Send Back Unit will process
approximately 100 paper send backs per day.



Insurance (NAIC)

The NAIC number is a five-digit number that can
be checked to see if the individual is covered
through the insurance company that they listed.

This number is listed on the insurance certificate
provided to the dealership and must be listed on
the documents that require insurance information.

https:/ /eapps.naic.org/cis/help



https://eapps.naic.org/cis/help

West Virginia

O T WY
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Keeping West Virginia on the move.

Titles and Registration



TRANSFER OF TITLE

Dealers only have 60
days to deliver the title
to the customer or lien

holder. Be sure to submit

your work as quickly as
possible.
(§17A-4-4)




HOW TO CHECK A WEST VIRGINIA TITLE

1. Check for lien information on the front of the title. Make sureitis
released and notarized.

2, Check the odometer readings. Make sure the odometer reading on the
back of the title is higher than the reading on the front of the title.

3. If the vehicle is exempt from an odometer reading please enter the
mileage as “0” and not required instead of the actual mileage and not
required.

4, Make sure the title has been signed in the correct sections by both seller
and buyer and be sure to list the sale date,

5. Make sure the name of the buyer matches in assignment section and in
section 7 exactly.

6. If the vehicle requires an odometer reading, make sure the buyer has
signed in the reassignment section.

7. Make sure section 7 is completed and signed.

B. List sale price, trade in amount, net cost, & 6% tax in section 5 of thae title.

9. List complete trade in and transfer information in section 5 (if applicabie).

10.Enter the amount, kind & date of lien as wel! as the lienholder’s name and
address in section 6 of the title.

11.List the Insurance information in section 7 of the title. Be sure to include
the NAIC #.

12.When using a WV title all West Virginia dealer reassignments must be
made on the back of the title. Dealer’s form TM-5 cannot be used in
conjunction with the WV title,

13.When the last reassignment (Section 4) is from a dealer to another WV
dealer, the last dealer must get a dealer title. No further reassignments
are allowed.

14.Make sure all fees are correct.

18



FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

R N T E

|
CLASS |

LICENSE #

DL or ID i |
Number

rlumedmv-mdudw-uvugmmﬁuwwm»mwmmmw i
¥ West Virginic ond filed with soid” Division, the opplicant, whose nome ond oddress first hereinbelow oppecr, hos been regi
@ soid Division os the lowful owner of the vehicle/boat hereinafter described, or is otherwise entifled 1o have said vehicle/boat
¥4 opplicont, thot is 1o say.

PLEASE
COLLECT THE
ID/DL
NUMBER OF
NEW OWNER
FOR DMV
RECORDS

Said Division further certifies thot from soid verified application, the above described vehicle/boat is subject fo lien(s) ond encumbrance(s) described EIFFEES
below, and none other, that is fo soy:

FIRST LIEN RELEASE
Nome and mailing address of Lienholder This lien was fully paid, satisfied, ond released on this, the
dayof 0=

Nome of
Uenholder

MU-WN =
token, subscribed, and sworn before me on this, the
doy of

N

My commission expires the ___ day of
SECOND LIEN RELEASE

Name and mailing oddress of Lienholder This lien was fully paid, satisfied, ond released on this, the

day of My

Nome of
Lenbolder
Signcture of
taken, subscribed, and sworn before me on this, the

day of

N

My commission expires the ___ doy of

DMV
Logo

Witness the corporate name of the Division of Motor
Vehicles of West Virginia and the seal of said Division
on the month, day, and year set beneath the

name of the applicant in this Title.




BUYER (1 & 7)

ODOMETER

SELLER

TRADE &
TRANSFER

LIEN INFO

INSURANCE &
NAIC

SALE PRICE

COMPLETE IN BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY
Federal and State law requires that you certify the mileage in connection with the transfer of ownership.
Failure to certify or providing a false statement of vehicle mileage may result in fines and/or imprisonment.
ASSIGNMENT OF CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
The undersigned hereby certifies that, for the sale price herein stated, the vehicle/boat described in this title has been transferred to the following Buyer(s) named below:
|Sale Price $ leoe Ins ]Nel Cost $ Is% Tax $

Ve

[Pnnled Name of Buyer(s) Address

“I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked:"

D 1. The mileage stated is in excess 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage

of its mechanical limits. WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY
Signature of Seller(s) or Dealer l Printed Name of Seller(s) or Dealer [Dealsv‘s License Certificate No.  |Date of Sale
X)

“I am aware of the above odometer certification made by the seller.” WARNING: THIS APPLICATION MUST NOT

Signature(s) of Buyer(s): BE SIGNED UNLESS THE PRINTED NAME AND
ADDRESS OF THE BUYER(S) APPEAR ABOVE

Printed Name(s) of Buyer(s):

1st RE-ASSIGNMENT BY DEALER ONLY

DEALER
ONLY 2-3-4

5% Tax $

The undersigned Dealer hereby certifies that, for the sale price herein stated, the vehicle/boat described in this title has been transferred to the following Buyer(s) named below:
’Pnnlad Name of Buyer(s) Address

ria)je ‘abueys Auy

“I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the g is

A0 ‘uoiy

1. The mileage stated is in excess 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage.
of its mechanical limits. WARNING -ODOMETER DISCREPANCY
Printed name of Dealer/Agent ID@a!ev's License Certificate No.  |Date of Sale

Printed Name(s) of Buyer(s):

2nd RE-ASSIGNMENT BY DEALER ONLY

The undersigned Dealer hereby certifies that, for the sale price herein stated, the vehicle/boat described in this title has been transferred to the following Buyer(s) named below:
Printed Name of Buyer(s) Address

“| certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the i is

1. The mileage stated is in excess 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage.
of its mechanical limits WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY
Signature Dealer/Agent: [Prinled name of Dealer/Agent Dealer's License Certificate No. Date of Sale
)

“| am aware of the above odometer certification made by the seller.”
Signature(s) of Buyer(s):

Printed Name(s) of Buyer(s)

3rd RE-ASSIGNMENT BY DEALER ONLY

‘The undersigned Dealer hereby certifies that, for the sale price herein stated, the vehicle/boat described in this title has been transferred to the following Buyer(s) named below:
Printed Name of Buyer(s) Address

“| certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following s is

1. The mileage stated is in excess 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage.
of its mechanical limits. WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

Dealer's License Certificate No. Date of Sale

Signature Dealer/Agent: Printed name of Dealer/Agent

x)
“l am aware of the above odometer certification made by the selier.”
Signature(s) of Buyer(s):

Printed Name(s) of Buyer(s):

TRANSFER AND TRADE-IN INFORMATION

STy o VeRICTeS oS regaTared T WV i Tax s Bae pald By Spalcam) B | YER
1. Make Year VIN No. Title No.
Description of vehicie/boat traded in:
= = INFORMATION
plates or Miake Year VIN No. License No.

transferred from:
OLDER ORMATIO 00

Amount $ Kind Lienholder

Date of Lien Address of Lienholder

INSURANCE STATEMENT
INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION IS RECEIVED,
Effective Date of insurance Policy.
From
Name of Insurance Company

BUYER'S CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
‘Name of Buyer(s) must be entered legibly and exactly as they are to appear on the new Certficate of Title. f the tile reads "and" both signatures must appear.

Buyer(s).

)

Name of Agent

Address of Buyer(s).
“Uwe hereby state, under penalty of false swearing, that the statements made heroin aro true and correct to the best of my/our knowledge and beliet.”

Insurance Pokcy Number

NAIC#

o0 ) Date
NO ADDITIONAL RE-ASSIGNMENTS PERMITTED




How To Check An
Out-Of-State Title

Must have out-of-state title or Manufacturers Statement of Origin
(MSO).

Must have a completed DMV-1-TR (Form 1).

Check vehicle information on title against information
completed on the Form 1.

Look for information on front of out-of-state title. Lien must be
released.



How To Check An Out-Of-State
Title - (Continued)

Make sure name & address of purchaser is listed
on back of the title.

If the state requires a notary, make sure the
reassignment on back of the title is notarized.

Make sure odometer reading is listed on back of
title.



How To Check An Out-Of-State
Title - (Continued)

If lien information is listed on the TM-5, check it
against the information listed on DMV-1TR.

Make sure DMV-1TR is signed.

List insurance information and NAIC number on
DMV-1TR, if applicable.

The Division will need either a dealer invoice or dealer
certification on DMV-1TR.

Make sure that the customer and the lienholder’s
address match on all documents.




SMVELR STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

Rev. 06/2010 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
CHARLESTON 25317

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

CLASS
TR TPy et o
NUMBER Application for a Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle
TYPE OR PRIN’ JE >
EXP. DATE [ T'YPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK I

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

The awner(s) of the following vehicle make application for a certificate of title for that vehicle and for that purpose state the following:

NAME N
(Name of purchaser to be writien plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title)
MAILING

VEHICLE INFO

Number Street City or Town Ceanty State Zip Code
VEHICLE DESCRIPTION
MAKE YEAR V.LN.
STYLE OF BODY l I |
M e B WEA(T Passenger vehicle only TRUCKS Requested (GVW)
e Bran :
ODOMETER e [ SALVAGE [ reconstruUCTED
OTHER.
Purchase Price § Trade-in§ — ____________ NetCost§ 5% Sales Tax

les registered in West Virginia and the tax paid thereon by applicant)

TRADE=IN DESCRIPTION \ TRADE &
YEAR SERIALNO. WY TTLENUNMPER TRANSFER

MAKE YEAR SERIAL NO WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER

{Credat allowed only en vehi

SALE PRICE

Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides)

Make of vehicle Weight Serial Number Title Number License Number
LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES
1 [Name Amount
Kind of Lien Date
/ S City State Zip Code SIC DT SIA
LIEN INFO 2 e i
Mailing
Address Kind of Lien Daze
Street Caty State Zip Code osie DT S/A

I hereby state that there is & motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that B Y
the statements made are tnue and cotrect to the best of my knowledge and belicf under penalty of false swearimg. West Virginia Motar Vehicle Law § 17A=%1: Fruudulent Applications, I : I z

Effective date of insurance policy: From To TITLE APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER
INSURANCE & Name of ] % ¥ If Title reads “AND” Both Signatures of Owners Must Appear SIGNATURE
Name of T Agent

N AI( Insurance Policy Number OWNER'S SIGNATURE
National Association Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Number OWNIRS SIGNATURE

INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION RECEIVED.
DEALER CERTIFICATION
This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from on
month —_____ day year —__ and sold to the above numed p et an month day year
The undersigned dealer further Certifies that the sale price, rade-in and net »osl are true and correct and that the Frdcml Odometer Regulation has bct'x satisfied. Federal
Regulations Requirpypou to State the Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership.

DEALER est 6f my knowledge that the od reading is and refiects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is

O Mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits,

CE RTIFICATION [ 2 Ihe cdometer reading is not the actual mileage = WARNING=ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.
Dealer Name
Address

s (X)
Dealer Number




1-82 w&oﬁogxwwvmvm’&a wv 858301

manmorw:u- mquines you to stals the iiieage In connoction with the tnsfa: of awmarshly, Pnlnnmh
reguired information o provialng famo stateronra may cosult in fites and/ or imprisonmont.

mu)wmhumutmmwmmmmmwmmmuwnm
mummmwmmmmmmwm-uu
mmnhummm-hm
(C] Bach resasignmont anall be In successive order and atall not ba vasu unt compleled in Ul
dmﬂnnkn-dmn-mwmmm
-] When the second roasaignment is completed 1o deasr, & West Virginia csalor
fitle must be chinined.

9 A copy of his messignmant must'be Kept by the docler showing to Quomster cieckagre, (8 Yean)

LIEN INFO ——
Wv AL ENCUMBRANOES EXCERT AD FOLLOWS: ‘ - .

LIENHOLDEN'S ADDAESS:

:m\omm-ommmmwm-nwmam

ODOMETER — | “"m=ommmsess
‘E,‘&m 1 THE MLEAGE GTATED | N EXCESS DF T8 NECHAMCAL LIMTS

1mmmnrbfwemxm
WARNING: ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

mWR! OF ORaleR: X & OEALER NUMBER
BUYER'S EEe S

~—— BUYER’S
INFO

SIGNATURE s e

NAME ‘TF PURCHABER:

PODAESS:
mw%umwuwmwumm

SLIEN N PAVOR OF: . - s
URNHE OBR'S NESE:

0mnnwmmp.wmm-&wmummmdn
wehio wnigas one of (he (oiowing stetements s chetiad:

w »
[:]r‘m 1. THE MILENGE STATED 5 (N EXCESS OF 75 MEOHANICAL LIMITS.

o 2. THE ODOMETER READING 16 NOT THE ATTUAL MILEAGE.
WARNING: DISGREPANCY

W COOMETER

SIGNETURE OF DSALER 00 DEALER

PRINTED NAME OF DEALER UATE OF SALE
ADORESS: :

BUYER'S BIGRATURE(SE L0

BUYERT PAATED NAME(S):

DEALER
SIGNATURE

mﬂﬂmVMUMSAWWWMMWLWWMWERBHAWCFNNW
TITLE THAT IT SUPPLEMENTS. ORIGINAL ON
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Manufacturers Statement of
Origin (MSO)

Odometer Disclosure is on back of the MSO. If
completed on MSO - a separate odometer is not
required.

Supplemental dealer reassignments can be made
when all spaces on the MSO have been filled.



Manufacturers Statement
of Origin (MSO)

Once a vehicle is titled from an MSQ, it is
considered a used vehicle. OH and PA does not
have a reassignment form. They are permitted
after all the space has been used to make a
copy of the back of a blank MSO and assign on
that copy.



Odometer Requirements

When a motor vehicle is sold or transferred, the odometer reading must be
recorded in the assignment section by the seller. If the title does not include this
section for this purpose, the seller may record the mileage on an odometer
statement on a form available from the DMV.

An odometer disclosure is ALWAYS required, unless:
= The vehicle is non-motorized

= The vehicle has a registered gross weight or gross vehicle weight rating or more
than 16,000 pounds

As of January 1%, 2021, all vehicle models year 2010 and before will not require an
odometer reading. Vehicle model years 2011 and after will require an odometer
reading for up to 20 years.

Recording a vehicle’s mileage and ensuring the accuracy of such recordings is part
of the DMV’s efforts to protect consumers. Recording mileage history helps legal
authorities to detect and prove cases of odometer tampering, or the illegal practice
of rolling back a vehicle’s mileage. When this occurs, the true condition of the
vehicle is misrepresented, and the buyer is deceived.



OMETER CERTIFICATION

This document certlfies the odometer reading of a vehicle at the time of it's sale. Both seller and buyer are

ige the ding certified on this de

You do not need to use this document If: (1) the vehicie is twenty (20) or more years old, (2) the vehicle is
non-motorized, (3) the gross vehicle weight of the vehicle exceeds 16,000 pounds, or (8) If the vehicle’s West Virginia
Certificate of Titlewas issued after January 1, 1991.

AN West Virginia Certificate of Titles issued after January 1, 1991 require the odometer certification to be completed
on the back side of the titledocument. West Virginia Certificateof Titles issued prior to January 1, 1991 do not

contain an odometer certification section on the back side ofthe document. For this reason, the Odometer
Certification (this document) must be used.

**PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION **

Year, Mode! Make Body Type
Grass Vehicle Weight, VIN Number
SELLER 'S INFORMATION

Name (Last, First, and Middle)
Address

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
Federal and State law require that you state the od\ ileage upon fer of hip. Failure
to complete this form or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment,
! the seller, state that the odi reads

(no tenth) miles, on the date certified below, and to the best of my knowledge reflects the actual mileage of the
vehicle described herein, uniess one of the following statements is checked:

[] The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits. O mm:«mnmm-«m/m
WARNING: ODOMETER DISCREPANCY (NOTARY
SELLERS SjGNATURE SELLER'S CERTIFICATION DATE

BUYER INFORMATION AND CERTIFICATION (TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BUYER)

Name (Last, First, and Middle)
Address

[ I

BUYER'S IENATURE GATE

e Y R e b S s

i certificate of titie in their name.
¥ THIS SECTION IS ONLY REQUIRED WHEN REQUESTED DUE TO TTTLE/ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

SELLER’S SIGNATURE - NOTARY CERTIFICATION

Subscribed and sworn before me this

day of 20
NOTARY PUSLIC SIGNATURE
MyC expires /. /.

BUYER'S SIGNATURE - NOTARY CERTIFICATION

Subscribed and sworn before me this,

day of 20
NOTAZY PURLIC IGNATVRE
My C ion expires /. /.

DMV-IM-1 (Rew 10/19)




Titling a Salvage Vehicle

The following must be submitted to the DMV in
order to receive a West Virginia salvage title:

The WV or out of state salvage title, with
all required information completed,
assigned to the insurance company.

A properlly completed Form DMV-5V-1
(Salvage Title Application)

Must complete sections 1 and especially 7 of
the WYV title along with the DMV-5V-1



Titling a Salvage Vehicle
(Continued)

Odometer disclosure information must be
recorded on the back of the title at the time of
transfer.

Payment of a $22.50 processing fee.



Titling a Salvage Vehicle
(Continued)

= When applying for owner retained salvage,
Form SV-6 must be submitted and signed by the
insurance company. You must include the WV
title and current registration card. We will not
accept form SV-1 for owner retained salvage.

= Once a vehicle is a non-repair it can be sold, but
cannot be retitled.

= We are unable to process a duplicate title for a
non-repairable vehicle.



DMV-5V-1
REV 8118

West Virginia Department of Transportation 7

Division of Motor Vehicles -
Salvage Certificate Application i

Name Daytime Phone

Address

STREET ADDRESS ary STATE v

Vehicle Information

maevear[ LI T wene LTI

Style of Body Weight or Odometer Reading
PASSENGER VEHICLE TRUCKS Gvw
COMPLETE THIS SECTION E] Requesting NON-REPAIRABLE Certificate D Flood Damage D Fire Damage D Salvage
IF APPLICABLE Over 75% damaged & not to be reconstructed) $22.50 FEE $22.50 FEE $22.50 FEE
NO FEEIS DUE

INDICATE DAMAGE BY CHECKING THE APPROPRIATE BOX, OR LIST PART UNDER “OTHER".

[ Front Bumper [ Windshield [ Rear Bumper Other Includes: Boats, Campers, Cycles, and misc.
[ Grill Assembly [ Side Glass -Left []Frame

0 Hood [J Side Glass - Right [ Suspension

[ Fender - Left [ Rear Glass [ Seats

[ Fender - Right [ Roof Panel [ Radio Unit

[ Door Front -Left [ Qtr.Panel -Left [ Battery

[ Door Front -Right [ Qtr. Panel - Right [ Dash Panel
[J Door Rear - Left [ Deck Lid [l Engine

[ Door Rear-Right [ RearDoorS/W [ Other=»

Lienholder Information (ifrequired)

Name Amount Date
UENHOLDER

Address

STREET ADDRESS oy STATE ra g

Applicant Certification

| hereby certify under penalty of fines and/or imprisonment, that the statements made herein are correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

PRINTED NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY DR OWNER

(X) /|

ORIGINAL SIGNATURE OF INSURANCE COMPANY REPRESENTATIVE OR OWNER (NO COPIES OR STAMPS) DATE

*ANY ALTERATIONS OR ERASURES WILL VOID THIS FORM.



DMV-5v-6
REV 617

West Virginia Department of Transportation 7 ?‘

Division of Motor Vehicles

. . 1-800-642-9066
Salvage Certificate/Owner Retention www.dmv.w.gov
Name Daytime Phone ( ) -
Address er— = -

Vehicle Information

wake e[ JL LI o LI I

Style of Body Weight or Odometer Reading

PASSENGER VEHICLE TRUCKS GvwW

COMPLETE THIS SECTION IF APPLICABLE

Owner Retention/Salvage Certificate - Please issue a salvage certificate in the name of the applicant listed above — vehicle
cannot be legally operated until the vehicle has been through the reconstructed title process and a reconstructed title has been
issued by the DMV.

INDICATE DAMAGE BY CHECKING THE APPROPRIATE BOX, OR LIST PART UNDER “OTHER".

[ Front Bumper ] Windshield [ Rear Bumper Other Includes: Boats, Campers, Cycles, and Misc.
[ Grill Assembly []Side Glass - Left []Frame

1 Hood 7] Side Glass - Right [] Suspension

[ Fender - Left ] Rear Glass [ Seats

[J Fender - Right [C] Roof Panel [C]Radio Unit

[ DoorFront-Left [ Qtr.Panel -Left []Battery

[] Door Front - Right [[] Qtr. Panel - Right [] Dash Panel
[ Door Rear - Left ~ [] Deck Lid [l Engine

[) Door Rear - Right ] Rear DoorS/W ] Other=»

Insurance Company Certification

| hereby certify under penalty of fines and/or imprisonment, that the statements made herein are correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Name of Insurance Company

(X) A

SIGNATURE OF INSURANCE COMPANY REPRESENTATIVE (NO COPIES OR STAMPS) DATE

*This form must be accompanied by the owner’s title and the
required $22.50 fee.

ANY ALTERATIONS OR ERASURES WILL VOID THIS FORM.




RECONSTRUCTED VEHICLE
INSPECTION SCHEDULE

Beckley DMV

107 Pinecrest Drive

10:00 am-1:00 pm

2nd & 4th Fri. of the Month

Charleston DMV

5707 MacCorkle Avenue, SE
9:30 am-1:00 pm

2nd & 4th Tues. of the Month

Clarksburg DMV
153 West Main Street

9:30 am-3:00 pm 2nd & 4th Thurs.

9:30 am-2:30 pm 2nd & 4th Fri.
of the Month

Elkins DMV

1029 North Randolph Avenue
9:30 am-12:00 pm

2nd & 4th Tues. of the Month

Huntington DOH

US Route 60

(1/4 mile East of Barboursville)
9:30 am-3:00 pm 2nd & 4th
Wed. and Thurs. of the Month

Lewisburg DMV

148 Maplewood Avenue
10:00 am-12:00 pm

2nd & 4th Wed. of the Month

Morgantown DMV
1525 Decker’s Creek Blvd.
10:30 am-2:30 pm

2nd & 4th Mon. of the Month

Moundsville DMV

400 Teletech Drive, Suite 100
10:30 am-2:00 pm

2nd Tues. of the Month

Parkersburg DMV

601 Lubeck Avenue

10:00 am-2:00 pm

2nd & 4th Thurs. of the Month

Princeton DMV

198 Davis Street

10:00 am-1:00 pm

2nd & 4th Thurs. of the Month

Summersville DMV

2 Armory Way

12:00 pm -2:00 pm

1st & 3rd Tues. of the Month

Weirton DMV

100 Municipal Plaza, Suite 100
10:30 am-2:00 pm

4th Tues. of the Month

Williamson DMV

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW
BEFORE YOU BEGIN...

1.) Avehicle cannot be reconstructed if it has been
defined or branded as junk or non-repairable.

2.) If you want to title an out-of-state salvage
vehicle in West Virginia, you must first
exchange the out-of-state vehicle title by
completing a Salvage Certificate Application
(DMV-5V-1).

3.) Avehicle with a salvage title cannot be registered
on any public highway until it has been
inspected and retitled as a reconstructed vehicle.

4.) A vehicle branded with a salvage title cannot
be operated on a public highway unless a
one-trip-permit is issued by the WV State Police
for the purpose of driving it to the inspection.
Note: A licensed WV Dealer may use their
‘Demonstration’ tag to transport a vehicle.

5.) Airbags on salvage vehicles must be intact or
replaced to manufacturers specifications to be
eligible for a reconstructed Certificate of Title.

6.) Make copies of all salvage and reconstructed
vehicle records, receipts, and photos and retain
them for at least three years.

7.) For any questions concerning the completion
of a salvage title or any other related
documents, please contact the Salvage Unit at

THE TITLING PROCESS FOR
Salvage Vehicles &
Reconstructed Vehicles

225 East 3rd Avenue (304) 926-3971.
Martinsburg DMV 10:00 am-12:00 pm
38 Severna Parkway 2nd & 4th Wed. of the Month
10:30 am-2:30 pm
2nd & 4th Tues. of the Month
QUESTIONS?
Contact:
Dealer Services 1(800)642-9066
- THESE INSPECTION TIMES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE - PO Box 17100 1(304)926-0705

Charleston, WV 25317 dmv.wv.gov

Inspection schedule times and dates are subject to
change around holidays. If an inspection day falls on
or near a holiday, call Dealer Services to ensure that
inspections will be taking place as scheduled.

REVISED 01/2021



APPLYING FOR A
SALVAGE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

If you already have a WV salvage Certificate
of Title you may proceed to the next section:
Applying for a Reconstructed Certificate of Title.

You must apply for a WV salvage Certificate of Title,
before you begin the process of reconstructing a
salvage vehicle.

To apply for a WV salvage Certificate of
Title, you will need to gather the items
below:

A.) The vehicle’s title/Certificate of Title with all
required information completed, assigned to, or
in the name of, the person(s) submitting the title

B.) A properly completed Salvage Certificate
Application (DMV-5V-1)

C.) The Odometer disclosure information recorded
on the back of the Certificate of Title or an
Odometer Certification (DMV-TM-1) for
nonconforming titles (Vehicles over ten years
old are exempt from this requirement)

D.) A $22.50 fee to process the application

e Make copies of all salvage titles and
related applications as outlined above,
then submit them to DMV.

Do not submit a Bill of Sale with a salvage title
application. The owner(s) of a vehicle with a
WV salvage Certificate of Title are responsible
for making sure the proper section (Assignment
or Reassignment by Dealer Only) is properly
completed and signed by the seller.

If your request is approved by DMV you
will receive a WV salvage Certificate of Title
and can proceed with reconstructing the
vehicle.

APPLYING FOR A
RECONSTRUCTED CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

Once you've obtained a WV salvage Certificate of
Title, you may begin the vehicle reconstruction
process.

o Take “before” photographs of the vehicle
from the front, rear, and both sides. Retain
the photos with all other reconstruction
records for at least three years.

6 As you are reconstructing the vehicle, keep
all related receipts for parts, equipment,
materials, and labor expenses. These must
be made available to the DMV reconstructed
vehicle inspector in step four.

If major component parts from another vehicle

are used, the VIN of that vehicle must be provided.
Major components include: front clip assembly
related parts; fenders; grill; hood; bumper; engine;
transmission; rear clip assembly related parts;
quarter panels; floor panels; and two or more doors.

o After reconstructing the vehicle, it must
pass the state safety inspection.

You may haul the vehicle to any official inspection
station licensed by the WV State Police, or obtain a
one-trip-permit from the WV State Police if you wish
to drive the vehicle to the state safety inspection. If
passed, the inspector will issue the inspection decal
(good for 12 months) and complete and certify the
Certificate of Inspection (DMV-202-TR).

o Next, the vehicle must be examined by a WV
DMV reconstructed vehicle inspector.

A.) You may wish to call ahead to ensure the
reconstructed vehicle inspection station you
plan to visit is open. The inspection schedule
on the reverse side of this brochure will give
you locations, as well as dates and times that
inspections typically take place.

B.) Vehicles with salvage titles may only be driven
to an inspection station if a one-trip-permit
has been obtained from the WV State Police.

Otherwise, the reconstructed vehicle must be
towed or hauled to the reconstructed vehicle
inspection.

C.) Present the inspector with all “before”

photographs taken of the vehicle and the WV
salvage Certificate of Title.

Once a rebuilt vehicle and all pertinent
records have been approved by the WV
DMV reconstructed vehicle inspector, the
owner(s) must apply for a reconstructed
Certificate of Title.

To obtain a reconstructed Certificate of
Title, you must submit the following to DMV:

A.) A properly assigned WV salvage Certificate of
Title with the odometer disclosure completed

B.) The original Reconstructed Vehicle
Examination (DMV-SV-3), completed
by the owner(s) and signed by the DMV
reconstructed vehicle inspector

C.) The Certificate of Inspection (DMV-202-TR)
by the inspector

D.) A $35.00 inspection fee, plus any other
applicable fees



2021
SALVAGE INSPECTION SCHEDULE
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Abandoned Vehicle Check List

Only WV Towing Companies, WV Repair Facilities, WV Auto Auctions, WV Salvage Yards and WV
Dealers can apply for an Abandoned Vehicle. There is no tax charged on abandoned vehicles.

o

=)
O
a
a
a

o

DMV-1-TR (Form-1 / Title Application)

DMV-130-TR (Application for Possession of a Junked or Abandoned Motor Vehicle)

DMV-1B (V.I.N. Verification)

DMV-100-TR (Request for Vehicle Information, must already be processed by the Record Dept.)
TM-1 (Odometer Certification) (If Applicable)

Original Signature Cards from the Certified Mailings to the Owner and Lien Holder (Address
provided from records must be the address used for certified mail). If no previous owner found,
then must have proof of newspaper ad (Certified Class 1 legal advertisement)

Copy of record from either WV's Record Department or previous state’s Record Department
Copy of letter that was sent to the lien holder or previous owner.

Check NADA Value (If over $9,500 owner must go through a Sheriff Sale. If NADA is $9,500 or
higher but value is lowered due to damage, then a certified appraisal from a third party showing
the cost of the necessary repairs must be presented or the original repair estimate. If the repairs
do not lower the vehicle under 59,500 then a Sheriff Sale must still be conducted.)

Title Fee

Registration Fee (If Applicable)



DEALER DUPLICATE TITLE
PORTAL

o If a customer has traded in a vehicle but
does not have the title — a dealer can use
the Dealer Duplicate Title Portal at
http:/ /go.wv.gov/dealerduptitle and
apply for the duplicate title for the

customer.

a0 Requesting the duplicate title on this site is
the application for duplicate title.
However, the other paperwork (copies of
identifications, lien releases, POAs) will
still be required.



http://go.wv.gov/dealerduptitle

DEALER DUPLICATE TITLE
PORTAL Cont’

 If the paperwork is rejected - you upload the
document(s) needed and resubmit the
paperwork.

4 Portal is being checked at least 2 times daily.
The duplicate title is usually mailed out the
same day or the next day.



POA (Power of Attorney)

When can a Secured Power of Attorney be used?

The Secured Power of Attorney form is considered secure because it complies
with the security features and odometer disclosure language as specified in
the Federal Truth in Mileage Act.

The Secured Power of Attorney can only be used in two instances and only
with the new West Virginia Conforming Title:

1. At the time of trade-in or direct sale, if the registered owner’s title is being
held by a lien-holder, the registered may, by use of the secured power of
attorney, designate the dealer as the agent for the purpose of completing the
odometer disclosure statement and reassignment of ownership on the title
when it is received from the lien-holder.

2. When the title is lost, the seller can designate the dealer to act as their agent
to complete the odometer disclosure and reassignment of ownership once the
duplicate title is received.




SECURE POWER OF ATTORNEY WVPA 1 2 4675 1 \

WARNING! This Form May Be Used When Title ls P lical Held By Lienholder Or When Title Has Been Lost. This Form
Must Ba Submitted To The State By The Pegﬂﬂ hy '! a!allum To Do So May Result In Fines And/Or Imprisonment.

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION

Make Model Vemcle Identification Number

PART A. Power of Attorney to Disclose Mileage
Federal and State law mqulre that you state the mileage upon transter of ownership.
Failure to or pi g a false 't may result in fines and/or Imprisonment.
I, 's name, Print), appoint
dealership name, Print) as my attormey-in-fact, to sign all papers and documents required to secure West Virginia Title and to disclose
the mileage on the titie for the vehicle described above, exactly as siated in my following disclosure
1 state that the now reads {no tenths) miles and, to the best of my knowledge, that it reflects the actual /@
mileage uniess on of the following statements is checked.
(1) The mileage stated is in axcess of its mechanical fimits.

["1 (2) The odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage, WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.

(Transferors Signatura) {Transieree's Signature)

(Printed Name) (Printed Nama)
(Transferor's Street Address) Transleree’s Sireet Address
(Chty. State, Zip Code) (City, State. Zip Code)
Dsle of Statement]

p—_

. S S L e s

PART B Power of Attomey to Review Title Documents and Acknowledge Disclosure
(Part B is invalid unless Part A has been completed)

s name, Print}, appoint £
as my ttomey in-fact, to all pem and documents required to secure We: ggma Titla and to snk)gn lhe mileage

\ disclosure o)n the fitle for the vehicie de . only if disclosure is exactly as the ure completed bel

{Transferee's Signature) (Transferee’s Printed Name)

{Transferoe’s Name, Street Address, Gity, State, 2ip Code)

Federal and State law requbm that you state the mileage upon fransfer of ownership.
Failure to f or p g a false may result in fines and/or iImprisonment.

I fransieror ip name, Print). state that the odometer now
e
[ the foliowing statements is checked.
[__1(1) The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.

[__1(2) The odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage. WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.

(Transferor's Signature) (Transferor's Printed Name)
(Transferors Street Address) (City, State, Zip Code)

PART C. c«mlﬂcatlon (To Be Complemd When Both Parts A and B Have Been Used)

I g above powers of attorney, Print), hereby certily that the mileage | have §
B disclosad on the fitie document is consistent with that pmvued to me in the above power of attorney, Further, upon examination of the i
Il title and any reassignment documents for the vehicle described above, the mi | have made on the title pursuant to the I
power of attorney is greater than that previously stated on the title and reassignment documents. This centification s not intended to /
create, nor does it create any new or additional liability under Federal or State law.

{Signature) {Printed Name)
(Street Address) (Chty, State, Zip Code)
(Date of §atemem)

N N ~ — » - I .
WARNING-DO NOT ACCEPT TS POWER OF ‘\I’TORNEY DOCUMENT WITHOUT NOTNG xm SECURITY WATERMARK; HOLD TO LIGHT TO VERIFY WATERMARK,
ARISIAM AE MNATND VEJIC EC FNDV

42



Secured Power of Attorneys

Section A: Seller

Section B: Buyer

Section C: Only to completed if both A & B are
complete.




Limited Power of Attorney

= A Limited Power of Attorney is for use only
with a specific vehicle. Must include make,
year, VIN, and the name of the person being
appointed POA.

= [f using a limited POA, with a vehicle that
requires an odometer, you must attach a
separate odometer disclosure statement signed
by the customer.



Trade-Ins

West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law only allows
trade-in credit for vehicles that are traded or
exchanged directly to a dealership. These
vehicles must be in the same name and taxes
previously paid in West Virginia

Selling a vehicle and then applying the monies
towards the purchase price is not considered a
trade-in credit.



Trade-Ins

Check trade-in. Must be same name as buyer.

If in OR, AND, or AND/OR and buyer(s) is listed
on title - FULL trade-in credit.

Q titles — because they are only registered - must
submit DMV-1TR & TM-1 and out-of-state title
with lien released (no fee required) in order to
get credit or pay on trade-in value.

All vehicles used as a trade-in must be in owner’s
name.



States That Do Not Issue Titles Or
Registrations

There are a few states that purge their system after a certain period,
and do not issue titles.

There are also some states that do not register certain vehicles that we
do, i.e. trailers, for example.

What do we require to create a title for the consumer in these cases?
1. DMV Form-1.

2. VIN Verification Form 1-B

3. Form MB 12-13

4. A letter from the state in which the vehicle was last titled or
registered, explaining that their state does not issue titles to certain
older vehicles, and the vehicle in question is not currently titled.

5. A notarized bill of sale from whom the WV consumer purchased
the vehicle.

6. For vehicles not registered or titled, we would require the same
information.



Repossession (Bank or Dealer)

Forms needed:

= DMV-1TR

= DMV-129TR (Repo form)

= TM-1 (odometer disclosure)
= WV title

If lienholder does not possess WV title - must have copy of
Security Agreement and DMV-1B (VIN verification) and a
notarized letter from the lienholder that they are not in possession
of the WV title.

Do not release the lien on face of WV title.

Dealer must follow Attorney General’s requirements for
repossession.



DMV-129-TR  REVSED 0&/2014

West Virginia Department of Transportation /r’

Division of Motor Vehicles s
Lienholder’s Affidavit for Repossession wwdmvn.gov

YOU MUST COMPLETE THIS ENTIRE FORM, FOLLOW ALL INSTRUCTIONS ON THE REVERSE SIDE,
AND ENCLOSE ANY APPLICABLE FEES.

This affidavit is for use by the lienholder of a repossessed vehicle to: 1.) secure a repossessed vehide Certificate of Title, issued
in the name of the lienholder, if the vehicle is sold under the terms of a conditional sales contract; or 2.) secure a repossessed

vehicle Certificate of Title in the name of the purchaser if the vehicle is sold at public or private auction under the terms of a
DEF AULTING deed of trust, chattel mortgage, or security agreement.

OWNER/S N AME Description of Repossessed Vehicle/Trailer/Boat / VEHICLE INFO

| |
| ‘ | ‘ \ | | ‘
& ADDRESS YEAR MAKE TITLE NUMBER VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER / SERIAL NUMBER / HULL NUMBER STATE

Name of Detaulting Owner(s):

Address of Defaulting Owner(s):

LEIN INFO FOR
DEFAULTING ofuen L], LTI B CO/CC/CTT e Eese [Elor @
OWNER mmof: 2 z

Address of Lienholder: _

Purchase Price |

Purchaser’s Name at Sall of Vahicleat Sale: 1 iyl 1 .

Address of Purchpser:.

NAME OF
PURCHASER B e B e e B S o e et ™ NAME OF
affidavit. The llen contract covering this vehicle, traller, or boat was executed In accordance wnf’ the applicable laws and provislons of LIENH OLDER
AT SALE (IF been fly compled withregardig gving duenoiceand uthorty o spose o th vehicletralle, orboat t pubc o prvatesleand
REPOSSESSING
VEHICLE

thatthere are no liens which are superlor to the lien stated In this affidavit. Additlonally, there are no legal suits currently pending In any
API_)LI C ABLE court concerning this rep and the rep Ing llenholder warrants the Certificate of Title for the described vehicle, trall
boat Is free from all Indebtedness and agree to defend it against any clalms.

Printed Name of Repossessing Lienholder: _

Printed Name of Authorized Official:

Authorized Official's Sig (X) Date
Stateof:_ Countyof:
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of
20,
(X)

NOTARY PUBLIC/ AUTHORIZED OFFICIAL SIGNATURE

My Commission expires on /. /




Tax Exempt

Gifts from spouse to spouse, parent and children, or legal heir
transactions.

Gifts using the application for transfer of ownership without
consideration (form DMV-5-TR), completed and notarized.

Corporation, partnership or limited liability company transferring
to another corporation, partnership, or LLC when the entities
involved in the transfer are members of the same controlled group
and the transferring entity previously paid the tax on the vehicle
being transferred - must own directly or indirectly 50% or more of
the stock or voting power.

Class H Vehicles (buses or large vans)

Class M Vehicles (mobile equipment). Class M applications must
be accompanied by 2 picture of the vehicle (front and side).



Tax Exempt - (Continued)

Class B vehicles being registered at a GVW of 55,000 lbs. or
more. Vehicle must be registered at the time of titling to be
tax exempt.

Class C trailers over 2,001 GVW. Plate must be purchased at
time of titling. Please note C plates are NOT transferable
after 30 days. The trailer must be the same class.

Rental Vehicles.
Registered Dealer of this state - for resale only.

Mobile homes, house trailers, modular homes.



DMV-5-TR
REV 11112

West Virginia Department of Transportation _ /r‘

Division of Motor Vehicles
Affidavit of Transfer of Ownership Without Consideration BB

|, , do hereby transfer to a
TRAML W CURREI T wuiics Uwisen RAMC OF 0w WLl UWwh uy

HEEN HEEEERERREEERRRNNNN

YEAR oo " VOACLEICENTIFICATION NUMEER

DHDL\ DD D for no consideration, monetary or otherwise. | declare under penalty of false swearing that the

TITLE NUMBER
statement made above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and the transfer does not involve any exchange of goods,

service or money in return for the vehicle.

Certification of CURRENT Ownership Certification of NEW Ownership

;’ME OF CURHENT UWNER(S) NAME OF NEW O'WNER(S)

ALURESS ADDRESS
UCENSEND NUMBER . FHONE NUMEER LICENSE/ID NUMBER PHONE NUMBER
SIGNATURE OF CURRENT OWNERIS) DATE SIGNATURE OF NEW OWNER(S) DATE

CURRENT OWNER'S Certification by Notary Public

*ONLY ONE NOTARY CERTIFICATION IS REQUIRED IF BOTH CURRENT AND NEW OWNERS
AREAVAILABLE AND PRESENT AT THE SAME TIME FOR NOTARY CERTIFICATION.*

NEW OWNER'S cCertification by Notary Public

*THIS NOTARY SECTIONIS TO BE USED ONLY IF THE CURRENT AND NEW OWNERS CANNOT SIGN
UNDER WITNESS OF THE SAME NOTARY AT THE SAME LOCATIONAND TIME *

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of

20 20

(X)

NOTARY PUBLIC

(X)

NOTARY PUBLIC

My commission expires on: My commission expires on:

NOTARY STAMP NOTARY STAMP

*ANY CHANGES, ALTERATIONS, OR ERASURES WILL VOID THIS AFFIDAVIT*

ANY APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP WHICH PROVIDES INCORRECT, FALSE OR FRAUDULENT INFORMATION ABOUT
THE CONSIDERATION EXCHANGED, SUBJECTS THE APPLICANT TO THE REVOCATION, SUSPENSION AND/OR CANCELLATION OF
ANY AND ALL DRIVER'S LICENSES, REGISTRATION PLATES, CARDS, AND PERMITS ISSUED TO THE APPLICANT.



Items Subject To 6% Motor
Vehicle Sales Tax

- Rebate
« Rust-Proofing

» Destination and Delivery
- Freight

» Simonize

= Accessories and Optional Equipment

» Protection Package



Items Not Subject To 6% Motor
Vehicle Sales Tax

- Warranty

- Service Contracts
- Discounts

- Documentary Fees
- Gap Insurance

- Aftermarkets (does not come from
factory)



DMV-86-TR

STATE OF WEST VIRGNIA
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

IF DEALERSHIP BUY HERE - PAY HERE DEALER AFFIDAVIT
IS LISTED AS PURCHASER'S INFORMATION
LIENHOLDER,
OR USING (Purchaser’s Name) (Purchaser's Address) (Phone #)
THEIR CoPurchaser's Namme) (CO Prachaser's AdGes) )
ADDRESS FOR VEHICLE DESCRIPTION:
LIENHOLDER |
ADDRESS _ Body Type Vehicle Identification Number
THIS FORM o
Name of Lienholder \
M BE Address
ATTACHED Date of Sale
l Total Amount of Lien | Kind of Lien | Date
| Total Amount of Payments | Amount of Payment | Payment Due Date
DEALER INFORMATION:
Name of Dealership Dealer Number
Address

The Purchaser (s) do hereby acknowledge purchase of the vehicle described above and that the listed Lienholder has
a valid lien on the vehicle.

X

Purchaser’s Signature Date C-Purchaser s Signature Date
Dealer Representative’s Signature Date
White Copy — Submit with original title work
Pink Copy — Dealer

Yellow Copy - Customer



Buy Here/Pay Here Liens

Pursuant to 91CSR6, In accordance with WV
Rule 2.9.d, any licensee Code 17A-4A-4 and 17A-
that lists itself as a lien 4-2, the dealer shall remit
holder on any vehicle it all fees and taxes along
sells shall attach with the  with the application to
title work a copy of the the Division prior to
sales contract or sales sixty (60) days of the
instrument, along with date of sale.

amount of lien, the

monthly payment and

number of payments.



Certification of
One-and-the Same

The Certification of One and the Same, form DMV-39-TR, is to be
used when an individual signs their name one way in an area on
title work, then another way in a different area.

An example of this would be, “John Smith signs his name in the
reassignment section, then signs John Smith Jr. in section 7”. John
Smith would have to complete the form.

Must attach a copy of a valid Driver’s License or ID



West Virginia Department of Transportation /r

Division of Motor Vehicles
Certification of One and the Same Person

This certification serves to verify that the following names are used for the same person, and the are used for
one and the same individual. This certification must be completed and signed by the individual asserting to
be one and the same, and they must provide a copy of their valid driver’s license or identification card.

Statement of Certification

This certifies that |, am one and the
NAME ONE
same person as . My correct address is
NAME TWO
STREET ADDRESS ary STATE ZIP CODE

The vehicle that appears in my name is a

MAKE/MANUFACTURER YEAR VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION/HULL NUMBER

Furthermore, | hereby certify that all of the statements made herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge

and belief under WV Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

(X)

SIGNATURE DATE




Transfer From Deceased Ownhner

Owner of vehicle in WV is deceased. Must have court

pointed executor/administrator papers or DMV-185-
Tllqi (only in cases of no will). All heirs must complete
and sign.

Copy of death certificate must be included when
submitting a DMV-185-TR.

If owner on face of out-of-state title is deceased. Must
follow guidelines in NADA book for that state.

Fizes apply - $15.00 for title and $10.50 for transfer of
plate.



Corrections

If a mistake is made on a title, do not mark out,
white out or erase. This will void the title and a
duplicate title will be required.

The DMV-35-TR must be completed and notarized.



DMV-35-DL
REV&14

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles
Affidavit of Correction for a Title or Registration wwiamregon

A)Dealeror License Service Information

:

Name of Dealer / License Service .

Address

aTy TCOUNTY STATE “"ZIP CODE

B) Vehicle / Boat / Trailer Information

MODEL YEAR MAKE TITLE NUMBER VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER / SERIAL NUMBER
C) Correction Needed
[_1 seller assigned title to self | Buyer’s name inserted in the wrong place
__| Seller signed off on title in the wrong place | Buyer’s name inserted in the seller’s place
__| Seller assigned the title to the wrong buyer ] Buyer’s signature is on the wrong title
|| Seller inserted their name in place of the lien | Notary Public signed their name in wrong place
["] seller inserted mileage incorrectly ]0ther (Please explain)

(Requires a notarized odometer statement)
__| Seller skipped one dealer assignment

Lien inserted in error
(Requires a letter from the lien holder)

D) Sender & Notary Public Certification
(X) [/

SENDER SIGNATURE DATE
NOTARY PUBLIC

Subsaibed and swom before me this day of 20,

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE

My Commission expires on / /.




Corrections
(Continued)

- Any requested corrections to vehicle
information will be verified through
the Division’s records



How to Enter Customer Names Into the ELT System

‘Customer Name (Single Name)

John P. Smith

|How to Enter:

Smith, John P

|Customer Name (Name With Suffix - 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc.)

John P. Smith 3rd

'How to Enter

Smith, John P 111

|Customer Name (Name with Suffix - JR, SR, etc.)

John P. Smith Jr

Smith, John P IR

'How to Enter

Customer Name (Two Owners with the Same Last Name)

John P. Smith or Mary K. Smith

|How to Enter

Smith, John P or Mary K

‘Customer Name (Multiple Owners with the Same Last Name)

John P. Smith or Mary K. Smith or Penny J. Smith

'How to Enter

Smith, John P or Mark K or Penny J

‘Customer Name (Two Owners with Different Last Names)

John P. Smith or Mary K. Jones

'How to Enter

John P Smith or Mary K Jones

'Customer Name (Multiple Owners with Different Last Names)

John P. Smith or Mary K. Jones or Penny J. Wilson

John P Smith or Mary K Jones or Penny ] Wilson

'How to Enter

‘Customer Name (Hyphenated Last Name)

John P. Smith or Mary K. Jones-Smith

'How to Enter

John P Smith or Mary K Jones-Smith

'Customer Name (Leasing Company with Owner Name)

Honda Lease Trust %John P. Smith or Mary K. Smith

Honda Lease Trust %John P or Mary K Smith

|How to Enter

|Customer Name (DBA)

John P. Smith DBA Smith Trucking Company

'How to Enter

John P Smith DBA Smith Trucking Company

Note: Do not abbreviate Leasing Company Names

Note: The only puncutation used is a comma after the last name or a hyphen if the last name is hyphenated



Special Plates

What does the special plates section do?

Personalized plate applications
Organizational plates

Government vehicles/ plates

Boats

Dealer Window (Only at DMV Headquarters)
Assembled Vehicles / Trailers



CLASSIFICATIONS

Class A « Cars & Trucks
Passenger motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 10,000
pounds o less

Class B « Trucks
Trucks, truck tractors, or road tractors with a gross vehicle weight of
10,001 pounds or more

Class C « Trailers & Semi Trailers

Trailers and semitrailers with a gross vehicle weight of more than
2,000 pounds, excluding house-trailers, trailers, or semi-trailers that
are designated to be drawn by class A motor vehicles

Class G « Motorcycles
Motor driven cycles and mopeds with a saddle and no more
than three wheels

Class H « Buses

Motor vehicles designed to carrying more than seven passengers
induding for transporting persons for compensation, excluding taxi
cabs

Class J « Taxi Cabs
Motor vehicles used for the transportation of persons for
compensation.

Class M « Mobile Equipment

Self-propelled vehicles, not designed or used primarily for the
transportation of persons or property over the highway, including
farm equipment, implements of husbandry, well-drillers, cranes,
and wood-sawing equipment that may infrequently travel over the
highway among job sites, to equipment storage sites, or repair sites

Class R « Travel Trailers
Trailers designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreation,
travel, or camping use

Class T « Trailers

Trailers, boat trailers, or semi-trallers with a gross vehicle welght
of less than 2,000 pounds that are designed to be drawn by class A
motor vehices

Class V « Antique Motor Vehicles
Motor Vehicles that were manufactured at least 25 years prior to the
current calendar year

Class X « Farm Trucks
Motor vehicles used exclusively for the transportation of farm
products and supplies by a farmer

Class Y « Boats
Watercrafts and vessels designed for traveling on water

Revised 02/2021
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BASIC REGISTRATION INFO

All registered motor vehicles are required to be
covered by a motor vehicle liability insurance
policy. A Statement of Insurance MUST be
submitted with each application for registration
on all classes of motor vehicles EXCEPT Classes C,
R, and T. The DMV will also accept a copy of your
Certificate of Insurance (WV-1).

A one dollar ($1.00) litter fee and fifty cents
(.50¢) insurance enforcement fee has been
included in the schedule of fees, as required.

The Statement of Insurance or Certificate of
Insurance (WV-1) for the vehicle being registered
MUST contain the following information:

« Vehicle Description
« Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
+ Policy Number

+ National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC) Number

» Name of the Insurance Company
» Name of the Insurance Agent

For all registration renewals or transfers, a
vehicle owner must provide a copy of their
personal property tax receipt or an Affidavit

of Assessor (DMV-178-TR) from the County
Assessor. One year registrations require proof
of payment for the previous tax year. Two year
registrations require proof of payment for the
previous two tax years.

Personal property taxes are assessed by the
County Assessor and collected by the County
Sheriff. If you have any questions about your
personal property taxes contact your local
County Assessor.

Contact your County Courthouse with any
questions concerning personal property taxes.

All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs) and Side by Sides may
not be licensed; however, they must be titled.



TretT Whitewater @ &

CLASSES R &T | TRAILERS

@ Wounaeu s s — —_—

CLASS A | CARS & TRUCKS UP TO 10,000 LBS

=/ |

CLASS C | TRAILERS & SEMI TRAILERS

CLASS B | TRUCKS 10,001 LBS AND OVER

NON-PERSONALIZED PLATE PRICES GROSS FULL YEAR 3[” Y'EM: 1{2 YEAR  1/4YEAR Permanent & Non-Transferable license Fee - $571.00 Matar boat and Class R or T teailer reqistrations run from April 1 - March 31
WEIGHT Les. (1-a30  fion-125m  {141-331) i every three years. As shown below, 2020 s year one of the three year registration
LICENSE NEW PLATE RENEWAL :?ﬂ} - 11,000 :x'g :;:';: :;:'g ;9"’050 cycle and has a three year price, whereas 2023 s the last year of the registration
FLATE DETAIL PRICE PRICE 12,001 - $44.50 53375 2300 §1225 CLASSH I BUS FEES cycle and has a ane year price. See the chart below for pricing,
Standard Graphic $51.50 $51.50 13,001 - 549.50 537.50 525.50 $13.50
ScenicPlate - - 361.50 551.50 ::‘H} . :;’:g ::;;: :i:g ::';: Take the empry weight of the vehicle and ade 1501 per seat, including the driver's seat, 2020 2021 2022 2023
:l"".q "'I‘;:l;::: HAvaitabe for a Limsitec Time Cirly) :::':: ::: ':: 16,001 - £00.00 567.38 45.75 §21.63 Take the Class B ficense fee for the total weight and (times) the percentage the vehicle i TRAILERS WAZOTO  ERITO 1210 120310
: 3 v 17,001 - 18,000 $100.00 §75.38 $50.75 52613 used in West Virginia, For intrastate buses, the fee fs 56,50,
‘Whitewater Rafting $T6.50 $66.50 ! CLASSR $39.00 526,00 $13.00 £30.00
Wildlifa (Deer or Bird) T SxaTs 18,001 - 19,000 5110.00 582,38 $55.75 528,63
5 r— 16,001 - 20,000 512000 590,38 SEOLTS 53192 CLASST 527.00 518,00 59.00 527.00
::‘j‘:::‘\"“"‘PP" { Character Education (Anyone) i;::: ::;‘; 20,001 - 21,000 $130.00 $97.38 $65.75 $33.63
) : 21,001 - 22,000 $140.00 510538 $70.75 53613 |
511 Commtamtunis e $76.50 SEE.50; 22,001 - 23,000 150,00 511288 $75.75 538,63 CLASS J | TAXI CABS
Donate Life / Organ Donor 576.50 $66.50 23,001 - 24,000 5160.00 512038 SEOLTS 54103 CLASS Y | BO)"S
Breast Cancar Awaraness $76.50 566,50 24,001 - 25,000 $170.00 5127.88 $85.75 $41.63 FULL YEAR 3/4 YEAR 1/2 YEAR 1/4YEAR
= o 1001 - 12431 1/1-3/31 4/1- 630 ; : : )
— — O S —— G| vy | e | avmoertoasaercqiedtob s s was ittt oron
Anticque Nan-Resticted) 5150 51,50 27,001 - 28,000 200,00 s15038 $100.75 8112 i i thrust motors have a registration fee. AN motor boats with under 3hp/70ib thrust
All Military Designs® ) $61.50 £51.50 28,001 - 29,000 $210.00 5157.88 $105.75 §53.63 and gaverament baars have no reqistrarion f2e, If pou change the configuration
Mobility Impaired* $51.50 $51.50 ] S, :zz.u.on i' . :"“-75 :55-'3 of your boat from a 3hp/701 thest+ o under /700 throst status, submit the
Emergency Medical Services (EM5)* $61.50 $51.50 ;?‘2} :;ﬁg $:g'gg s: ;:ﬁ s:;g;: s:?ls: CLASS X | FARM TRUCKS reqistration and @ complered OMV farm £-14 2a DMK, DMV only titles and reqisters
I il o o o i ooy 518 hit] 32,001 -33.000 s250.00 5167.80 12575 s63.53 motarized boats.
FOR A FIRST TIME TWO YEAR REGISTRATION, YOU PAY BOTH THE RENEWAL PRICE 33,001 - 34,000 260,00 519568 $130.75 566,13 GROSS FULLYEAR 3/4YEAR 1/2YEAR 1/4YEAR
AN THE NEW PLATE PRICE, FIOR A TWO YEAR REGISTRATION RENEWAL YOU PAY 34,001 - 35,000 5270.00 5202.88 5135.75 568,63 WEIGHT Lss. (#1-90300  (10/1-12031) (147 -3/31) (4/1- 6/300 2020 2021 2022 2023
DOUBLE THE RENEWAL PRICE LISTED ABOVE. PLATES INDVCATED WITH AN 35,001 - 38,000 5280,00 521038 5140.75 AR k] 8007 - 16,000 53150 S28.00 16,50 $9.00 B&U:ILSSISZE 4412020 T /12021 TO 412002 TO 4/1/2023T0
ASTERISK (*) REQUIRE ACDITIONAL CERTIEICATION, 36,001 - 37,000 5290.00 521888 514575 573.63 = 33177021) 331/2022) 331132023 2312024]
37,001 - 38,000 $300.00 522538 515075 §76.13 S—— ol =l —— sl B1E50 : 1000 S2000 1000 30.00
. 22,001 - 28,000 591,50 $69.00 54650 524,00 Under 16"+ Y1A $
28,001 - 39,000 $310.00 23288 1878 sr63 28,001 - 34,000 £116.50 <8775 $59.00 £30.25 16'- 25°5¥11 $45.00 $30.00 $15.00 $45.00
- 39,001 - 40,000 532000 524038 5160.75 58113 == i - 8 L
EXCHANGE PRICING: CHANGE TO PERSONALIZED PLATE TR T $24788 N65.75 $83.53 34,001 - 44,000 $161.50 12150 581,50 $41.50 6-39-v12 56000 54000 52000 560.00
LICENSE STANDARD PATRIOTIC WILDLIFE  NASCAR 41,001 -42,000 $340.00 $255.38 $170.75 $86.13 44,001 - 64,000 $206.50 $155.25 $104.00 $52.75 AV RUP. Y13 $75.00 $50.00 $25.00 $75.00
PLATEDETAIL  GRAPHIC ORSCENIC  OR9/11 PLATE P S fasan L jaasa 4001 80000 EE LDl 1En $64.00
Plate Begins with 1 566,50 7650 5150 $101.50 44,001 - 45,000 5370.00 5277.88 5185.75 593,63
Plate Begins with2  S6B.13 57813 $93.13 599,12 45,001 - 46,000 $330.00 $28538 §190.75 9613 CLASS M | MOBILE FQUIPMENT DMV LOCATIONS & INFORMATION
. . 46,001 - 47,000 5390,00 520288 $195.75 598,63 I
Plate Begins with3  $65.75 $75.75 $90.75 596.74 AT i o i Cree Q Toll Free (In State) 1-800-642-9066
Plate Begins with 4 563,38 57338 S88.38 594,36 AE,001 - 49,000 5410,00 $307.88 $205.75 $103.63
Plate Begins with 5 $61.00 B L] LW 49,001 - 50,000 $420,00 §315.38 5210.75 $106.13 Hearing Impaired 1-800-742-6991
Plate Beginswith 6 $58.63 568,63 8363 $89.60 S0001-51,000  $430.00 32288 521575 10863 FULL YEAR 3/4 YEAR 1/2 YEAR 1/4YEAR dmv.wv.gov
Plate Begins with7  §56.25 $66.25 581.25 $87.22 51,001 - 52,000 $440,00 $320.38 $220.75 PELTRES (7/1-w30) (1071 -12/31) 1/1-3/31) (4/1- 6/30) Wwv.g
Plate Begins with & $53.88 $63.88 578,88 584.84 52,001 - 53,000 5450.00 5337.88 5225.75 511363 $18.50 51413 59.75 $5.38
Plate Begins with 9 $51.50 $61.50 $76.50 $82.46 53,001 - 54,000 $460,00 $345.38 523075 $116.13
Plate Begins with 0 $49.13 55913 §74.13 $80.08 54,001 - 54,999 547000 535288 523575 $11863
Plate Begins with N $46.75 $56.75 $71.75 $77.70 55,000 $739.00 $554.63 $370.25 $185.98
PlateBeginswithD  $44.38 ssa38 $6938 $75.32 S5001-56000  $75475 556644 s178.13 stg9.a2 CLASSV | ANTIQUE MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS
Renewal Fee 566.50 566,50 581.50 $91.50 :—im = :;m :mz: :::5: :::ﬁa-:g :1::::
L - . . 167, . i idarad * .
AR e e R e R Muw_r vehiles that were manurm.r.e_rf of feast 25 years aga are considered antique and
50,001 - 60,000 SB17.75 £613.69 $409.63 £205.57 qualify for antique license piates. Applicants may choase o provide a plate for use, wihich must
60,001 - 61,000 5833.50 $625.50 5417.50 $209.50 be approved by the DML, or they may use o MV antique plate design.
61,001 - 62,000 584925 $637.32 $425,38 $213.44 . Pr. Pleasant- Spences
62,001 - 63,000 $865.00 649.13 3.25 217.38 . . . o *Flatw
CLASS G I MOTOR(Y“.ES simﬂ 64,000 $B80.75 gﬁsn_w xma §22|_12 drl;.qwJ.fg.ufn.-m:spwnu:;.'lm}:;nfrﬁmmm: w:d?r;nn ir.lrw;-f;v, Su.vlr_I:.‘y, r?_mﬂm.';day!, o
64,001 - 65,000 589650 $672.75 $449.00 $225.25 or far activities such as parades, club events, tours, exdvibits, etc. These registrations are on g *Hurtington
MOTORCYCLE PLATE REGISTRATIONS 65,001-66000 591225 568457 545688 5225.19 ten year cycle. You can egister an antique vehicle at anytime, and you willanfy be charged the Kanash
LICENSE NEW PLATE  RENEWAL :g‘:: 2;’:22 :ﬁ::g 23::3: ; g;_;: :ig;‘]g fees for the remaining number of years on the current cycle. The current registration cycle o Lol
PLATE DETAIL PRICE PRICE 68,001 - 69,000 595950 720,00 $480.50 $241.00 began on July 2, X075 and will end on duly 7, 2025, The fee befow will caver the fees fa keep R ——
F— vdie 1610 po— 68,001 - 70,000 5975,25 £731.82 5488,38 $244.94 our registration eurrent until the cycle ends.
andard Motorc < 70,001 - 71,000 5591,00 574363 496,25 524088
Parsonalizad (Includes 15,00 yr Annual Reservation feel - $31.00 531.00 71,001 - 72,000 $1006.75 $755.44 $504.13 525282
Handicapped 516.00 $16.00 FZ,001 - 73,000 $1022.50 $767.25 5512.00 $256.75 YEARG0f 10 | YEAR7of 10 | YEARBof 10 | YEAR9 of 10
Veterans $26.00 $16.00 73,001 - 74,000 $1038.25 477907 $519.38 $260.69 (22200320 | (2221 t02/1/22) | (22200T23) | (2720230 1/1/28) o L .
Vertical $41.00 §16.00 74,001 - 75,000 $1054.00 $790.88 £527.75 $264.63 $17.50 $14.00 $10.50 $7.00 Your Reg ions with
75,001 - 76,000 $1069.75 580269 5535.63 $266.57 your mobile device with the QR
FOR A FIRST TIME TWO YEAR REGISTRATION, YOU PAY BOTH THE RENEWAL PRICE 76,001 - 77,000 $1085.50 $814.50 554350 527250 de on the right isit:
AND THE NEW PLATE PRICE. FOR A TWIO YEAR REGISTRATION RENEWAL, YOU PAY 77,001 - 78,000 $1101.25 $82632 $551,38 $376.44 code on the right or visit:
DOUBLE THE RENEWAL PRICE LISTED ABOVE. 78,001 - 79.000 $1117.00 583813 $559.25 5268038 https://go.wv.gov/selfservice
79,001 - 63,000 5113275 5849.94 5567.13 526432




Titling Reminders

When using a DMV-1-TR make sure the dealer
certification is completed. This eliminates the need
for a separate bill of sale or invoice.

Make sure to list your dealer number on title work
to ensure sales credit. Dealer titles must be titled in
the same name listed on your dealer certificate.



Titling Reminders
(Continued)

In the dealer reassienment section on the WV title,
make sure to complete the sale price. Without
verification DMV will request a bill of sale.

In the Trade-In section, make sure to list the complete
trade-in vehicle and plate transfer information (i
applicable).

Class A plates have been increased up to 10,000 Ibs.

If there is an amount listed in the lien section of the
DMV-1-TR or the title and there is no lien, a notarized
letter of correction is required stating that there is no
lien.



Titling Reminders
(Continued)

All titles must be submitted to that Division prior to
the 60 days allowed for processing. Code states that the
customer or lienholder must have the title in their
possession before or no later than the 60 days from the
date of sale.

The brand “and” requires both signatures to purchase
or sell a vehicle, “and/or” requires only one to sell or
buy, “or” requires one signature. Odometer
disclosures require one signature.



Titling Reminders
(Continued)

Any alteration or error on title work requires an
Afgdavit of Correction, explaining what occurred.
Do not use white out or erase. Put one line
through the error and make correction above the
strike through. When you void a reassignment,
you need to go to the next reassighment section
and complete the proper assignment and must
include a letter of correction.

If the customer’s plate is due to expire within
forty-five (45) days, fees should be collected to
renew and transfer their plates at the time the title
work is submitted. A Personal Property Tax
receipt must accompany the title work.



Titling Reminders
(Continued)

Insurance information must be current when title work is received
at the DMV. If expired or incomplete, the title work will be
returned. *When using a title application (DMV-1-TR), insurance
should be listed on the application itself.

Make sure to list customer’s insurance companies” NAIC number.

Credit for trade-ins apply only to vehicles registered in the
applicant’s name on which sales tax was previously paid in WV.

On all title work, make sure all si}gnature areas are signed,
especially on the new WV titles. Any areas reguesting the printed
name of the seller or buyer must be completed. These areas must
be handwritten or typec}ll.



Titling Reminders
(Continued)

On states that require notarization, make sure they are
notarized.

When using a title a gphcatlon (DMV-1-TR) make sure
to list the weight and style of body for the vehicle.

Attach the original or a cop cf/ (front and back) of the
customer’s registration card when transferring plates,
as this eliminates the need for verification.

You must have reassigenments and odometer
statements for all dealers involved in the transaction.
Make sure you have a complete trail of ownership.



Titling Reminders
(Continued)

Title must accompany request for any correction of title. If the Division
made the error, no fee is required. If not a $15.00 title fee is required.

When applying for a duplicate plate, decal or registration card, please
provide the license plate number. Must provide an insurance certificate
when requesting a duplicate license plate. Fees are as follows:

Dup Reg Card $10.00
Dup Decal $10.00
Dup Plate $10.50

The DMV now offers many services online, including duplicate requests
and license plate renewals. You can view the online services portal at:

https:/ /apps.wv.gov/dmv/selfservice



https://apps.wv.gov/dmv/selfservice

Dealer Services

What does Dealer Services do?

Approves applications for new Dealers
Renews all Dealers
Inspects/Investigates Dealers

Rental Company License

License Services

Reconstruction Examinations



Dealer Inspectors

Conduct inspections on all licensed West
Virginia Dealers and License Services

Salvage /Reconstruction Exam
Consumer Complaints

Dealer Investigations
Pre-Apps/Final Inspections



Dealer Deficiencies

Dealer does not have required sales records

Not open during posted business hours

Dealer displaying vehicles with open titles

Dealer has not delivered title work within sixty (60) days
Dealer has not remitted taxes, fees, and/or recorded lien

Dealer is displaying vehicles of a type for which it is not
licensed

Display lot contains junk, or junk vehicles
Dealer does not have a sign

The DMV is authorized to revoke or suspend a dealer’s
license and to issue civil penalties as a result of dealer
deficiencies.

The DMV reserves the right to shape the consequences
necessary to correct any deficiencies and to deter future
deficiencies.



Buying or Trading Vehicles
Out of Class

Pursuant to WV State Code 17A-6-5,
dealers may sell a vehicle for which they
are not licensed if the vehicle was received
as a trade-in. Also, a “used” car dealer can
obtain a new vehicle from a “new” car
dealer; provided, the “used” car dealer
titles the new vehicle in the name of the
dealership before selling the vehicle to a
customer.



Buying or Trading Vehicles
Out of Class - (Continued)

Additionally, dealers buying or trading out of class must
comply with the following:

Dealers acquiring vehicles out of their license class through
trade must provide proof of trade-in before reassigning the
title for the vehicle or they will be subject to sales tax.

copy of the invoice reflecting the trade should be attached to
the title work.

Dealers acquiring a “new” vehicle out of their license class
through trade must surrender the MCO and apply for a
dealer title. If you cannot provide proof of trade-in, you will
be subject to sales tax. A copy of the invoice reflecting the
trade should be attached to the title work.



Buying or Trading Vehicles
Out of Class - (Continued)

Be advised dealers purchasing vehicles out of
class, not in accordance with WV Motor Vehicles
Laws, will pay tax on the vehicle and receive a
regular title. Dealers involved in this type of
purchase can not reassign from the MCO and can
be subject to Civil Penalties for buying out of
class.



Change in Dealership

Dealers shall notify the Commissioner within sixty (60) days from and after
the date on which any of the following changes in the business occur:

A change in location

A change of the name or trade name

The death of a licensee

A change in partners, officers or directors
A change in ownership

A change in the type of legal entity by and through which the license
engages or will engage in the business

The appointment of any trustee in bankruptcy, trustee under an
assignment for the benefit of creditors, master or receiver.



Change in Dealership
(Continued)

All information from the Division, Secretary of State’s Office and
State Tax Department must match. (Owners/Officers and address)

Personnel authorized to transact business on behalf of the
dealership must be kept up to date.

A change such as a 911 physical address change can cause several
issues, 1f not reported.

If a change in owners/ officers occur, all must sign the back of the
form in front of the Notary.

After every renewal season, dealer services must send letters
requesting a Change in Dealership form to be completed because
the renewal application does not match the previous records.



DMV-126-M-DS
REV 03/11

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles

Notice of Change in Dealership

THE BUSINESS NAME AND ADDRESS INFORMATION BELOW SHOULD MATCH WHAT IS ON YOUR

RENT DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE

Dealership Name: Telephone Number ( ) =

Mail Form to: Dealer Services
PO Box 17100 - Charleston, WV 25317

304-926-0705 - www.dmv.wv.gov

Mailing Address:

STREET ADORESS oy STATE e

Business Address:

STREET ADDRESS Iy STATE P

Dealer License Number:

Change in Dealership - This section outlines the change in dealership that must be completed.

1.If business is moved to a new location, give complete new mailing address and new location of business. Attach to this
notice a photograph of new location. A $5.00 per plate charge applies if mailing address is changing.

New Address:

STREET ADORESS any STATE P

2. If change in trade name is made, give the complete new trade name that the business will be operated under. A $5.00 per
plate charge applies to name changes.

Dealership Name:

3. If change is due to death of licensee or any partner, give name of such licensee or partner and relationship to licensee.

Deceased's Name: Relationshij

Deceased's Name: Rel, h

4. If change in any partners, officers or members, list names and titles below:

Name: Title:
Name: Title:
Name: Title:

5. If appointment of a trustee in bankruptcy, trustee assignment for benefit of creditor, master or receiver, give name and
address of such trustee, master or receiver.

Continued Detailed Dealer Questionnaire

6. If change in personnel authorized to make assignment of titles and to transact business with the DMV, list names of all
authorized personnel.

Name: Signature: (X)
Name: Signature: (X)
Name: Signature: (X)
Name: Signature: (X)
Name: Signature: (X)

7. If additional places of business have been established at other locations with the State since your original application was
filed with the DMV, give the address and phone number of each location. Attach a photograph of each location to this
notice. Include a check or money order for $1.00 per each location.

Address: Telephone Number () S ——
= 2P

ADDRESS oy STATE

Address: Telephone Number =) =——u
B 2P

EET ADDRESS oy STATE

Dealer and Notary Public Certification

State of West Virginia, County of to wit:

Before the undersigned authority this day personally appeared
who, after first being duly swom deposes and says that he is the applicant (or if firm or corporation, that he is an authorized
member of the firm or proper officer of said corporation): That the business herein named is a legitimate dealership at the

address and location shown herein and applicant further states that the changes outlined in this notice are true and correct

statements.
(X)
waAT
SCARTORE
(X)
P
(X)
oAU
Subscribed and swom before me this day of .20

NCTARY PLUBLIC SICAMTURE

My Commissicn expires on /. /.




WV Dealer/License
Service/Rental/Leasing Totals

As of October 2023, West Virginia has 1,274 Dealers.

97 License Services
Renewal deadline is December 31, 2023.

38 Rental Companies

134 Leasing Companies



Digital Titling Record Keeping
Requirements

WVDMYV would like to remind all License Services and
Dealerships of the requirements for keeping
documents that were uploaded as part of the new
digital titling process.

A licensee (Dealer) shall keep a record of all customer
transactions electronically or paper copies for a period
of three (3) years from the date of the transaction for
inspection purposes upon request by authorized
representatives of the Division and all law enforcement
officers during the regular posted business hours of the
establishment.



Contact Information

TITLES AND REGISTRATIONS

Kim Harrison, Office Manager
Kim.F.Harrison@wv.gov

Donna Green, Lead Specialist
Donna.K.Green@wv.gov

Frank Pisaturo, Lead Specialist
Francesco.D.Pisaturo@wv.gov

Call Center

304-558-3900

1-800-642-9066
DMVcustomerservice@wv.gov

SPECIAL PLATES

Lisa Eskew, Supervisor
Lisa.A.Eskew@wv.gov

Courtney Hudson, Lead Specialist
Courtney.R.Hudson@wv.gov

Phone 304-926-3972
Fax 304-926-3885
dmvspecialplates@wv.gov
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Contact Information

DEALER SERVICES

Roderick Bradford, Division Manager
Roderick.C.Bradford@wv.gov

Erica Withrow, Unit Manager

, , Phone: (304) 926-0705
Erica.D.Withrow@wv.gov

Fax: (304) 926-3895

Chris Held, Lead SpeCialiS’f If you have any question or concerns,

Chris. A.Held@wv.gov please contact Dealer Services at the
= telephone number above or use the email

addresses that have been provided.

Mike Smith, Specialist II
Michael. K.Smith@wv.gov

dealerservices@wv.gov
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Important Dates to Remember

June 15t Applications must be received or
post marked.

December 315, License Services license
expire.

60 days to deliver title to the consumer or
lien holder.

45 days, transfer of registration on new
vehicle.



