WVDOH Specifications Committee Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Meeting held in person at Technical Support Division – 1:00 p.m. with virtual option via Google Meet platform and teleconference availability

> Voting Members in Attendance: Shawn Smith, Contract Administration Division Paul Farley, MCS&T Division Ted Whitmore, Traffic Engineering Division Dirar Ahmad, Engineering Division Tim Moran, Operations Division (see attendee list for a list of all attendees)

- Discussed Approved Permanent Specification changes from last Committee meeting 1. (8/03/2022).
- Discussed Approved Project Specific Special Provisions (SP) from last Committee meeting 2. (8/03/2022).
- Discussed Items removed from Committee Agenda 3.
- 4. Begin Discussion of Old Business Items
- 5. Section 410-Asphalt Base and Wearing Courses Percent with Limits (PWL)
 - Comment from John Crane, WVAPA to clarify why item was included in meeting and opposition of removal of incentives.

(Discussion ensued)

- Approved. Vote: Yes-5, No-0
- Two specification changes removing bonus structure form Section 508 and Section 720. 6.
 - a. Section 508-Diamond Grinding, Subsection 508.9-Smoothness
 - b. Section 720-Smoothness Testing
 - No Comments
 - Approved. Vote: Yes-5, No-0
- Specification 642-Temporary Pollution Control, Subsections 642.7.1-Temporary Pollution 7. Control, Unit Value Method & 642.9-Pay Items

(Discussion Ensued)

- Hope to approve at next meeting.
- 8. Specification 711-Paints, Coatings, Oils, and Inks, Subsections 711.5.3-Approval, 711.6.1.1-General, 711.22.1-General, 711.22.4-Top Coat, and 711.23-Sample Submission and Approval

(Discussion Ensued)

• Hope to approve at next meeting.

- 9. SP for Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) (Discussion Ensued)
 - Hope to approve at next meeting.
- 10. Section 106-Control of Materials, Subsection 106.1 Source of Supply and Quality Requirements

(Discussion Ensued)

- Hope to approve at next meeting.
- 11. Section 109-Measurment and Payment, Subsection 109.20-Weigh Tickets & 109.20.1-Electronic Ticket Delivery

Suggestion to add 'must interface with the WVDOH e-ticketing portal' to 109.20.1 (Discussion Ensued)

- Approved, as noted. Vote: Yes-5, No-0
- 12. Section 401-Asphalt Base, Wearing, and Patching and Leveling Courses
 - No Comments
 - Approved. Vote: Yes-5, No-0
- 13. Section 623-Shotcrete, Subsection 623.2-Materials & 623.6.5-Combined Aggregate Gradation

(Discussion Ensued)

- Hope to approve at next meeting.
- 14. Section 661-Traffic Signs and Delineators, Subsection 661.2.3-Retrorelective Sheeting and Matching Components
 - No Comments.
 - Approved. Vote: Yes-5, No-0
- 15. No New Business Items

April Specification Committee Meeting Tuesday, August 16, 2022 Attendee List

Virtual Meeting Attendees

Vincent Allison
 Jason Boyd
 WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 Michael Baker, International

3. Darby Clayton WVDOH – Deputy Asst State Highway Engineer Operations

4. Ed Compton FHWA

5. Randall Cooper
 6. Cindy Cramer
 WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 WVDOH – Traffic Engineering

7. Sasha Danberry WVDOH – Contract Administration Division

8. Jerry Elkins HNTB

9. Eric Estep
 10. David Ford
 11. George Hanna
 WVDOH – District 9
 WVDOH – Legal Divison
 WVDOH – MCS&T Division

12. Michael Harvey Triton

Dale Hill Builders Supply Association of WV
 Kimberly Hoover WVDOH – Highways Operations
 David Lipscomb WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 Patrick Madsen WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 Mike Mance WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 David Matics WVDOH – MCS&T Division

19. Clay McCabe Argos

Donald McNutt American Concrete Pipe Assoc.
 Pat Parsons Contractors Association of WV
 Michael Perrow WVDOH – MCS&T Division

23. Stephen Rumbaugh WVDOH – Deputy State Highway Engineer Construction

24. Donald Simmons
 25. Ron Stanevich
 26. Nathaniel Tawney
 27. Suman Thapa
 28. Andrew Thaxton
 WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 WVDOH – MCS&T Division

29. John Turner Forterra

30. Ted Whitmore WVDOH – Traffic Engineering
 31. Jason Workman WVDOH – Legal Division
 32. Kyle Stollings Potesta and Associates
 33. Russell Kocher Mid-Atlantic Maintenance

34. Chet W Rodabaugh WV Paving

In Person Meeting Attendees

Steve Boggs
 Janie Adkins
 Ted Whitmore
 WVDOH – Technical Support Division
 WVDOH – Traffic Engineering Division

Tim Moran WVDOH – Operations Division
 John Crane Asphalt Paving Association of WV
 Colton Farley WVDOH - MCS&T Division

7. Chadley Miller JF Allen Company

8. David Withrow
9. Evan Bailey
10. Scott Evans
11. Rick Johnson
WV Paving
WV Paving
WV Paving

12. Eric Lough WVDOH – Operations Division
 13. Paul Farley WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 14. Shamieka Johnson WVDOH – CRC Division

Shawn Smith WVDOH – Contract Administration
 Dirar Ahmad WVDOH – Engineering Division
 Daniel Hoskins WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 Ben Whelan WVDOH – MCS&T Division
 Shawn Jack WVDOH – MCS&T Division

20. Jason Foster WVDOH – Deputy State Highway Engineer Development

21. Travis Long WVDOH – Technical Support Division

TOTAL ATTENDEES: 55