Driver's Licenses and ID Cards

There are TWO types Driver's Licenses & ID Cards

You have the choice between a Not For Federal Use driver’s license or ID card, or a REAL ID/For Federal Use card that contains a gold star, indicating that the card meets full federal requirements for future use at airports and other designated federal facilities and uses nationwide. Details of how Federal Government will implement this requirement have not been released.

Applicants applying for, renewing, or obtaining a duplicate driver’s license or ID card are required to provide specific documents. The documents you need to bring to the DMV depends on what type of card you choose. Due to processing and shipping costs, an additional $10.00 fee is required to obtain a FOR REAL ID/For Federal Use card.

Renew your driver's license online 
Register for to be an organ donor

If you change your address you are required to notify, in writing, the DMV within 20 days of the change. Failure to do this subjects you to a possible fine or imprisonment. Simply notifying the US Post Office will NOT update your record with the DMV or allow important DMV mail to be forwarded to you. By failing to change your address with the DMV, you could miss the renewal date of your license, or even have your driving privileges suspended or revoked unnecessarily.

To change your address with DMV use the Change of Address form found on the forms and applications page here.

Classification or Endorsement
Class A
Combination of vehicles with a GCWR of 26,001 pounds or more, provided the GVWR of the unit being towed is 10,001 pounds or greater
Class B
Single vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more and towing any such unit with a GVWR less than 10,001 pounds
Class C
Vehicles with a GVWR or a GCWR less than 26,001 pounds and designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or vehicles used in the transportation of hazardous materials which requires the vehicle to be placarded under 49 C.F.R.
Class D
Non-CDL Vehicle for Hire
Class E
Passenger Vehicles
Class F
Motorcycle Only
Class G
Biopic Lens-Wearing Drivers
Class X
Identification Cards (Non-Driving/Non-Driver)

If you want to operate a motorcycle on the public roads, you must obtain either a motorcycle endorsement (F) on your driver's license or a Class F motorcycle only driver's license. First, you must take a knowledge test at your local DMV office in order to obtain your learner’s permit. The permit is valid during daylight hours only and does not permit a passenger. After you have had your learner’s permit for 7 days, you can make an appointment to return to the DMV to take an on-cycle skills test which must be successfully completed before an endorsement can be added to your license or before a motorcycle only license can be issued.

If you are under the age of 18, you must complete Level II GDL before you can be eligible for a motorcycle instruction permit.

A Motorcycle Driver Handbook has been prepared to help you pass the tests. If you have further questions about motorcycle licensing, please contact Harry Anderson at

The Division of Motor Vehicles also offers a Motorcycle Safety Program. If you are interested in taking the Basic or Experienced Rider Course, please click here or contact the Motorcycle Safety Program Training Coordinator at 304-926-3819