Per West Virginia Code: §17A-13-1, a “street-legal special purpose vehicle” (SPV) includes all-terrain vehicles, utility terrain vehicles, minitrucks, pneumatic-tired military vehicles, and full-size special purpose-built vehicles, including those self-constructed or built by the original equipment manufacturer and those that have been modified. Street-legal special purpose vehicles are eligible for a registration plate."
How to obtain a
1. To be considered a SPV, the vehicle must have the following equipment:
- One or more headlamps.
- One or more tail lamps.
- One or more brake lamps.
- A tail lamp or other lamp constructed and placed to illuminate the registration plate with a white light.
- One or more red reflectors on the rear.
- Amber electric turn system, one on each side of the front.
- Amber or red electric turn signals.
- A braking system, other than a parking brake.
- A horn or other warning device.
- A muffler and, if required by an applicable federal statute or rule, an emission control system.
- Rearview mirrors on the right and left side of the driver.
- A windshield, unless the operator wears eye protection while operating the vehicle.
- A speedometer, illuminated for nighttime operation.
- For vehicles designed by the manufacturer for carrying one or more passengers, a seat designed for passengers.
- Tires that have at least 2/32 inches or greater tire tread.
2. If the vehicle qualifies as a street-legal SPV, the owner must then obtain a certificate of insurance on the street-legal SPV, have it inspected, fill out the Special Purpose Vehicle Certification Form, found here, and provide any other documents necessary including tax, title (including out-of-state title if necessary), lien, plate and registration fees to the DMV.
Fees are $16 annually for a regular Class street-legal SPV plate, plus additional fees of $100 annually for hybrid vehicles, and $200 for electric or natural gas vehicles.
If the street-legal SPV is already titled, the owner must still fill out and provide the Special Purpose Vehicle Certification Form and provide registration fees as listed above.
3. An individual may operate a SPV on roads in West Virginia subject to the following limitations:
- No street-legal SPV may be driven on controlled access highways, including, but not limited to, interstate systems.
- No street-legal SPV may be driven on roads where prohibited by the county, municipality or the Division of Natural Resources.
- No street-legal SPV may be driven on a highway displaying centerline pavement markings for a distance greater than 20 miles.
- No minitruck registered as a street-legal SPV may be driven on a road constructed pursuant to a federal highways program.
- No street-legal SPV may be driven in an area not open to motor vehicle use.
4. An individual operating an street-legal SPV on the road must follow the rules of the road and all driver licensing requirements.
5. For more information regarding SPVs, please find legislation here
, and here for additional information specific to ATVs and UTVs.