Division of Public Transit



West Virginians and visitors to our state depend on Public Transportation everyday - for work, business, recreation, shopping, and access to education or medical services.  It enriches communities by providing safe, affordable transportation and is important to the economic vitality of the state.  Many elderly or disabled citizens rely on Public Transportation which allows them to stay in their own homes and communities.  By using Public Transportation, people can help reduce traffic congestion, help the environment, and save money.


The Division of Public Transit is the state administering agency for all federal and state programs relating to public transportation. Additionally, it is the designated state organization for the receipt of Federal Transit Administration (FTA) funding.

 Please see our Transportation Providers Directory for listings by county for Public Transportation, Specialized Transportation, Taxi services, and Head Start Programs.  The directory lists those providers who have ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) lift equipped vehicles.

Little Kanawha Transit Authority, Calhoun County.  Completed, 2013

Other Public Transit Resources:



  • The Division has recently launched the first ADA Taxi cab in West Virginia using Federal Transit Administration New Freedom funds! 
  • Annual Public Notices for Disadvantaged Business Enterprises (DBE) goal for procurement, Early Planning and Intercity Bus are now available for view.  Click the "Public Notice" tab on the left.

State Management Plans


The Division of Public Transit State Management Plans are posted below.


Public Comments Requested on W.Va. Code Article 16E State Safety Oversight Program

The West Virginia Department of Transportation, Division of Public Transit hereby gives notice pursuant to West Virginia Code Article 16E of a comment period on the following rule:
225 CSR 1, Title 225 Rail Fixed Guideway Systems State Safety Oversight
This rule can be viewed on the website of the West Virginia Secretary of State.

Comments must be in writing and addressed to:

William C. Robinson
Executive Director
West Virginia Department of Transportation, Division of Public Transit
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Building 5, Room 650
Charleston, West Virginia 25305

The comment period ended on October 6, 2017.



WV DOT Privacy Notices | Contact Us | Site Map | Disclaimer

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2017 State of West Virginia