West Virginia Parkways Authority

Board Members


The Honorable Jim Justice



_SR143081 byrd white.jpg

Hon. Byrd E. White, III
Governor’s Cha​irman Designee

Byrd White was appointed by Governor Jim Justice as the Secretary of the West Virginia Department of Transportation in March of 2019. Secretary White, a licensed CPA, brings a diverse career in both the private and public sectors to Governor Justice’s Cabinet, including several years of leadership with one of the nation’s largest highway construction companies. Beginning in 2001, White served as Executive Vice President of The Vecellio Group, gathering extensive road construction and management experience from interstate projects to smaller roadways, before he was named President of one of The Vecellio Group’s subsidiaries; Ranger Construction – South, a role he held until 2004. Prior to accepting his role as Transportation Secretary, White had been involved in the City of Beckley, as the Recorder-Treasurer and later as an elected Commissioner for the Raleigh County Commission, a position he held until tapped by Governor Justice.

Hon. Jimmy D. Wriston
Cabinet Secretary, WV Department of Transportation​

Jimmy Wriston, P.E. was appointed in October 2021 by Governor Jim Justice to serves as Secretary of Transportation and Commissioner of Highways. He previously served as the Deputy Secretary and Deputy Commissioner, as  Chief Transportation Engineer/Special Projects Manager/Engineering Advisor to the Secretary of Transportation, as Structures Project Manager for the Engineering Division, and began his career with West Virginia Division of Highways as a Regional Design Engineer in District 9.

Mr. Wriston attended the West Virginia Institute of Technology and graduated Magna Cum Laude with a bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering, after obtaining his General Equivalency Diploma in his 30's following a career in everything from machinery to construction projects, to managing a pizza restaurant.  Wriston is a champion for education and believes West Virginia Department of Transportation has the capability to be the best educated DOT in the country, citing his own example of overcoming the stigma of a young man who dropped out of high school to go to work at a young age to the role he now holds, a progression which was made possible both by hard work and by seeking continuous education. 

Hon. Tom Mainella, SECRETARY

Mr. Mainella is the manager of United Security Agency Insurance in Fairmont, WV. A native of Fairmont, he is a WVU graduate and a former WV State Policeman. He previously owned Chevrolet dealerships in Hundred and Shinnston, WV. Tom has served two terms on Fairmont City Council, currently, President of the Fairmont Airport Authority has served as president of the Marion County Rescue Squad, and is a member of the Fairmont Sanitary Sewer Board. He is a member of the Fairmont Elks Lodge, Holy Spirit Church, Phi Kappa Psi fraternity, and the Knights of Columbus. He and his wife Joyce reside in Fairmont a​n​d are the parents of two children.

Hon. Thomas T. Joyce

Thomas T. Joyce was appointed by Governor Jim Justice to the Board of Directors for the West Virginia Parkways Authority on July 20, 2022.

Tom holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from Marshall University and a Master of Science Degree from West Virginia University and has spent 24 years in healthcare administration. Mr. Joyce is a lifelong resident of Wood County, West Virginia and currently serves as Mayor of Parkersburg, WV. 

Hon. Alisha Maddox

Ms. Maddox is the Chief Communications Officer/Co-Owner of Charles Ryan Associates where she's involved in all aspects of the firm including sales and marketing, media/spokesperson training and client service. As a former news reporter, she has a passion for writing and specializes in strategy, and specifically brand awareness, message development, media relations and public issues for the firm's transportation, manufacturing, energy, and small business clients, to name a few. 

Alisha is a graduate of Marshall University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism and a Master of Arts degree in Journalism. She has been recognized as a "Woman on a Mission" by Union Mission Ministries, a "WV Young Gun" by WV Executive Magazine and a "WV Wonder Woman" by WV Living Magazine.  She is a 2014 Leadership WV graduate. A member of the LWV Board of Directors for several years, she also chairs its Marketing Committee and sits on its Selection Committee. Alisha is the Co-founder of the WV Visionary Group, committed to working with educators on inspiring, encouraging, and elevating students. She is a two-time cancer survivor, and lives in Charleston with her two sons, Tyler and Carter.

Hon. Douglas M. Epling

Mr. Epling is the owner of Mountain Edge Mining, Legacy Resources and Hanover Resources which are coal mining operations.  Mr. Epling was involved for many years with boxing and baseball throughout the State of West Virginia.  

He was Chief Engineer for Beckley Coal Mining Company for 19 years; a member of the Southern WV Boxing Hall of Fame; West Virginia State Boxing Commissioner for 9 years; a member of the WVU Tech Athletic Hall of Fame and a former Member of the Board of Visitors at WVU Tech; a member and Past Master of the Coal City Masonic Lodge #156, Royal Arch Mason and 32 degree Scottish Rite Mason.  He is also a member of the Crab Orchard-MacArthur Lions Club, named a Paul Harris Fellow in the Rotary Club and a 2018 Inductee in the West Virginia Sports Legend.

In addition to serving as a West Virginia Parkways Authority Board member, Mr. Epling is also Chairman of the Beckley Police Commission. ​


Hon. J. Victor Flanagan, Esq.​
Victor Flanagan was born in Beckley and currently resides at Flat Top Lake with his wife Lindsay and their five children.  He is a graduate of West Virginia University and the West Virginia University College of Law.  He is an equity member of Pullin, Fowler, Flanagan, Brown and Poe PLLC which has offices in Charleston, Beckley, Morgantown and Martinsburg.  He served as the firm’s Managing Member from 2002 through 2012.  

Mr. Flanagan has been a member of the West Virginia Bar Association since 1989 and is admitted to practice before the West Virginia Supreme Court, the U.S. District Court Southern District of West Virginia, the U.S. District Court Northern District of West Virginia, the U.S. Court of Appeals 4th Circuit and the United States Supreme Court.  His areas of practice include governmental liability, medical and hospital liability, trucking and civil rights litigation.  He holds the highest possible peer rating from Martindale-Hubbell--AV Preeminent—in both legal ability and ethical standards.  

Mr. Flanagan is past Chairman of the Beckley-Raleigh County Chamber of Commerce and is actively involved in the Association of Defense Trial Attorneys, the Claims Litigation Management Institute, the West Virginia Defense Trial Counsel, the West Virginia Trucking Association and the Oil Marketers and Grocers Association.   He also served on the Board of Trustees for the Appalachian Regional Healthcare System from 2014 through 2020.