Hauling Permit Resources
Notice: Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Waiver and Special Permit for Transporting Supplies expired June 25, 2020 at 5:00 and is no longer in effect. Anyone transporting supplies must abide by all legal weight limits or be in violation of the law.
The state of West Virginia has directed most non-essential staff to telework in all instances possible, therefore all oversize/overweight permits will be issued remotely. This should not cause any delays in the usual processing times, however there will be delays for calls. Customers are asked to contact the permit technician via email at the following addresses.
Lee - Lee.firstname.lastname@example.org
Brett - email@example.com
Jack - firstname.lastname@example.org
Any calls should be directed to (304) 558-9547.
Thank you in advance for your cooperation during these times.
This website is currently undergoing layout changes in order to make this site more helpful. Permitted travel time policies have changed. Please see Permit Information for details.
Do I need a Hauling Permit?
How do I order a Permit?
We issue permits online or by walk-in. To order a permit start here
Low Impact Monitoring
If a permit is approved at low-impact, we will notify the applicant and, at the applicant's request, we will issue the permit with the bridges to be low-impacted and their locations and the required speed listed; there will also be a phone number on the permit to call and schedule the monitors. Please read all instructions carefully and note that, if low-impact is required, this is a condition of the permit - you will be in violation if you attempt to make the move without a monitor. Please note that the Monitoring Scheduling Office will try to accomodate scheduling after 2:00 p.m. up to 3:00 p.m. on weekdays and also weekend monitoring, subject to availibility of monitors.
Permit Cancellation Fee
We may, at our discretion, charge $20 for all superload applications that are not activated (resulting in permits) within 30 days of the analysis. In other words, we will keep all Superload applications for 30 days, after which (if you do not request permits to be issued for these applications) we may charge you $20 per application. This does not apply to applications that are denied by District Bridge Department personnel. It also does not apply to applications that you cancel (by faxing us a cancellation notice) before the application is opened by one of our staff and the analysis is run. Furthermore, you must keep track of your own applications. We will not honor requests from you to count applications submitted but not activated - this is your responsibility.
New Weekend Travel Rules
We will now grant weekend travel when requested for anything not over 14' wide, unless on the West Virginia Turnpike or requiring low impact. Weekend travel on the West Virginia Turnpike may be requested and will be considered using the same criteria as we have always used.
-- Updated 7/19/2019: This link will take you to information about legal limits in West Virginia, descriptions of all of the different kinds of hauling permits we issue, escort requirements, and more.
Todd D. Gibson P.E., Permit Section, Permit Section Head
Building Five, Room 356
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston WV, 25305-0430